Carnegie Mellon University

The Tepper School Alumni Awards recognize excellence in our alumni community for outstanding career accomplishments or achievements and for impressive service to the school and alumni community.

Presented by the Tepper School Alumni Board, our 2019 alumni award winners will receive their awards on Saturday, April 13, 2019, as part of the Tepper School All-Class Reunion Celebration. An awards committee of the Alumni Board selects the winners from the nomination pool.

Tepper Alumni Award Categories

Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award

The Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award is intended to recognize both the longevity and consistency of professional achievement of the highest caliber over one's professional lifetime. These distinguished graduates have contributed significantly to their industries, companies, and communities and brought honor to the Tepper School of Business by upholding the highest values and traditions of the school.

Alumni Achievement Award

The Alumni Achievement Award recognizes the nominee's outstanding accomplishments and leadership in his or her profession, which brings honor to the Tepper School of Business upholding the highest values and traditions of the school. Alumni may be nominated for contributions such as industry innovation, significant impact in one's field or substantive value creation.

Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes volunteer service to the Tepper School community or its alumni organizations, including active participation in alumni or university affairs; faithful and continued effort in maintaining class, chapter, interest group or other alumni organizations; or assistance in expanding the influence and prestige of the Tepper School and Carnegie Mellon University. Breadth, length, and impact of volunteer service to the school will be considered.

Recent Alumni Award for Achievement or Service

The Recent Alumni Award is intended to recognize either outstanding professional accomplishment and/or service to the Tepper School community by those who have graduated within the last 10 years.

2018 Alumni Award Recipients

Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award: David Coulter, MSIA/BSIM '71

David Coulter, MSIA/BSIM '71, forged a stellar career as a C-level leader in the financial services industry since graduating from GSIA in 1971. He is currently a Special Limited Partner of Warburg Pincus where over the last 10 years he has served as the firm’s Vice Chairman as well as Managing Director and Senior Advisor for financial services investment activities. Coulter also held a series of positions at JP Morgan Chase and was a member of the Office of the Chairman. He also served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of BankAmerica Corporation. 

In addition to his career achievements, he has been a trusted advisor and loyal donor to Carnegie Mellon University for decades. Coulter serves on Carnegie Mellon’s Board of Trustees and is a member of the Executive and Advancement (Chair) Committees. 

Coulter is a passionate advocate for the Tepper School of Business and has been a leading voice on the Tepper School’ Business Board of Advisors. He is also the co-chair of the fundraising campaign for the Tepper Quad and a generous benefactor for the new Tepper School building naming the University Welcome Center.

Alumni Achievement Award: Gunjan Kedia, MSIA '94

Gunjan Kedia, MSIA '94, who has more than 20 years of experience in the financial services industry, is now serving as vice chairman of Wealth Management and Securities Services at U.S. Bank, the fifth largest commercial bank in the United States. 

Among Kedia’s professional successes is the distinction of being one of the youngest consultants in the history of McKinsey & Company to make partner. Before joining U.S. Bank, she served as Executive Vice President of State Street Corporation where she led the core investment servicing business in North and South America and served as a member of State Street’s management committee, its senior-most strategy and policy committee. Prior to State Street, Kedia was an Executive Vice President at Bank of New York Mellon and led the global product management function for their global asset servicing business. 

Kedia is also a committed volunteer for the Tepper School and a member of the Business Board of Advisors. She and her husband, Tepper School professor, Dr. Sridhar Tayur, Ford Distinguished Research Chair and professor of operations management, are generous supporters of the Tepper School’s first building on the new Tepper Quad.

Alumni Service Award: Devin Anderson, MBA '05

An influential link between the Tepper School and Deutsche Bank, where he serves as Managing Director and Head of Solution Sales in Equity Derivatives. Devin Anderson, MBA '05, has spent many years as the Tepper School’s primary recruiting contact for Deutsche Bank and has launched the financial careers of many MBA, MSCF, and undergraduate alumni. Anderson joined Deutsche Bank upon receiving his MBA at the Tepper School in 2005, and he has built a strong career in financial markets and derivatives.

As a key recruiter for his firm at the Tepper School, Anderson has given significant time to serve as a mentor for students completing internships at Wall Street companies, and he frequently meets with students one on one to help them prepare for interviews. He champions Tepper School alumni at Deutsche Bank and along with co-captain Dan Bergad runs a series of mentorship programs, career coaching programs and trading competitions for incoming graduate hires.

Recent Alumni Service Award: Michael Miller, MBA '11

Upon graduation from the Tepper School in 2011, Michael Miller, MBA '11, was hired at Amazon. Within just a few years, Miller has built a strong career at Amazon creating, building and growing successful $1B+ categories at the company including Renewed, Handmade and Wine. He now serves as a Business and Technology Director leading the transformation of the Worldwide Consumer business through the invention of a new business model and associated technology. In addition, Miller manages the Amazon Exclusives business and a Brand development venture group, among other innovative businesses. 

Miller is highly engaged in alumni activities. He has co-sponsored alumni events in Seattle and serves as a Tepper Alumni Philanthropy volunteer — a class representative committed to connecting with fellow alumni to foster philanthropic engagement. 

Beyond connecting with fellow alumni, Miller serves as both an admissions volunteer and a recruiting volunteer. He has been a key recruiting contact at Amazon and conducts a corporate presentation each fall at the Tepper School.

Past Alumni Award Recipients


2107 Tepper MBA alumni award recipients

David Mawhinney, MSIA 1990
Alumni Achievement Award

James Ostry, MSIA 1994
Alumni Service Award

Swetha Arbuckle, MBA 2009
Recent Alumni Service Award

Tod Johnson, MSIA 1967
Lifetime Achievement Award


2106 Tepper MBA alumni award recipients

Manoj Singh, MSIA 1976
Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Joel Adams, MSIA 1966
Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Rimmo Jolly, MSIA 1995
Alumni Service Award

Geoffrey Bent, MBA 2007
Recent Alumni Award

Shamir Karkal and Joshua Reich, MBA 2006
Recent Alumni Award


2105 Tepper MBA alumni award recipients

Ian Buggs, MBA '11
Recent Alumni Achievement Award

Per Lofberg, MSIA '73
Alumni Achievement Award 

Suresh Sethi, Ph.D. '72
Alumni Achievement Award


2104 Tepper MBA alumni award recipients

Daniel Jester, MBA ’09
Recent Alumni Achievement Award

John McCue, BS/CIT ’81, MSIA ’87
Alumni Service Award

Marc Onetto, MSIA ’75
Alumni Achievement Award


2103 Tepper MBA alumni award recipients

James Swartz, MSIA ’66
Alumni Achievement Award 

Jon Kinol, MSIA ’92
Alumni Service Award

Geoff Entress, MSIA ’88
Alumni Service Award

Patrick Macedo, MBA ’03
Recent Alumni Award