Carnegie Mellon University
CMU Cut

News Archives 2020

Friday, October 23, 2020
Pittsburgh-based Fintech Startup Troutwood Launches Free App

Thursday, October 15, 2020
Agility Robotics Raises $20 Million to Build and Deploy Humanoid Robots for Work in Human Spaces

Friday, October 9, 2020
Swartz Center Announces New Cohort of Swartz Entrepreneurial Fellows

Thursday, October 8, 2020
AI Startup Abridge Raised $15M To Help Patients Transcribe Doctor Appointments

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Ekto VR Debuts Robotic Boots for VR Experiences

Friday, September 18, 2020
Andrew Ellerhorst Appointed President and CEO of JDXpert

Friday, September 11, 2020
CMU's Po-Shen Lo Creates NOVID App That Can Warn Users Of Elevated COVID-19 Exposure

Friday, September 4, 2020
Astrobotic Awarded Over $1M to Advance CubeRover Payloads

Tuesday, September 1, 2020
VentureBridge 2020 startup Sightseek available in the App Store (Co-founders; Anna Fuller and Logan Anderson)

Friday, August 28, 2020
CMU Startup SparkMeter Completes $12M Series A Financing

Thursday, August 13, 2020
From Investment Pro to Startup CEO, Natali Gears For App Debut

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Young Entrepreneur: Mayowa Osinowo's Startup Was Born Out of Frustration

Monday, August 10, 2020
Woman of Steel: Priya Narasimhan, Founder and CEO Of YinzCam, Has Designs On Doing Everything

Friday, August 7, 2020
A Perfect Pairing: CMU Alumni Asa Foster and Matt Katase Are Growing Their Popular Craft Brewery

Tuesday, August 4, 2020
CMU'S Bloomfield Robotics Helping To Build Future For Crop Estimation With Its New Product

Friday, July 24, 2020
Farm To Flame Energy and LittleMoochi Accepted Into Ascender Accelerator Program

Friday, July 17, 2020
The UEA I-Fund Seeds Student Startups

Friday, July 17, 2020
Three Swartz Center Entrepreneurs Awarded Pittsburgh's 30 Under 30

Thursday, July 16, 2020
Young Entrepreneur: Asha Banks Featured in Pittsburgh Business Times

Wednesday, July 15, 2020
CMU Spinout LumiShield Technologies Reaches Milestone with Aluminum Electroplating Process

Sunday, July 12, 2020
Meet the Founder Who Is Giving Robots Wings To Fly

Friday, July 10, 2020
Craig Markovitz Named Richard King Mellon Foundation's First Prosser Mellon Fellow

Friday, June 26, 2020
Honeycomb Credit Offers Small Business Relaunch Loans

Monday, June 22, 2020
CMU's Hyliion Inc. and Tortoise Acquisition Corp. Announce Merger

Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Young Entrepreneur: Arman Hezarkhani is Taking A New Approach To Online Learning

Thursday, June 11, 2020
CMU's Astrobotic Awarded $199.5M Contract to Deliver NASA Moon Rover

Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Fifth Season Launches New Website and Offers Free Shipping of Its Products for Limited Time

Monday, June 1, 2020
Undergraduate Innovation Scholars Prepare To Forge New Paths

Monday, June 1, 2020
Choolaah Indian BBQ Opening A Second Pittsburgh Location on June 9

Thursday, May 28, 2020
CMU Alumnus Kwaku Jyamfi Joins Clean Energy Trust University Accelerator

Wednesday, May 27, 2020
CMU Startup Liquid X Creates E-Textiles That May Help Monitor Patients

Thursday, May 14, 2020
ApertureData Awarded $225K Grant from the National Science Foundation

Wednesday, May 13, 2020
3 Tips for Entrepreneurs: McGinnis Venture Competition

Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Entrepreneurship Club Visits Silicon Valley Startup Scene

Monday, May 11, 2020
AI-Powered Virtual Pet LittleMoochi Featured in Next Pittsburgh

Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Fifth Season Recognized by Fast Company for its “World Changing” Ideas

Monday, May 4, 2020
Astrobotic Awarded $79.5 Million Contract to Deliver 14 NASA Payloads to the Moon

Thursday, April 30, 2020
CMU Researchers Develop Voice Analysis That Could Help Doctors Screen for Coronavirus Symptoms

Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Niche Closes $35M Funding Round, Sees Opportunity in COVID-19 Pandemic

Tuesday, April 28, 2020
CMU's FRESH 3D Printing Selected 2020 World Changing Idea by Fast Company

Friday, April 24, 2020
Vertical Indoor Farm Donates Greens to Pittsburgh Non-Profits

Thursday, April 23, 2020
Swartz Center's Dave Mawhinney Shares Insight on How Pittsburgh's Early-Stage Startups Are Surviving COVID-19

Tuesday, April 21, 2020
The CMU Undergraduate Entrepreneur Association Introduces New I-Fund

Friday, April 17, 2020
CMU Professor Creates Innovative App to Anonymously Trace Exposure to COVID-19

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Autonomous Resupply Is Flying Into Reality For U.S. Military Thanks to CMU Spinoff Near Earth Autonomy

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
CMU Startup Gather AI Named Logistics Startup of the Month

Monday, April 13, 2020
CMU's Gecko Robotics Doing Its Part for COVID-19 Pandemic Response

Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Pittsburgh-based Vertical Farm Fifth Season is Betting On the Power of Technology to Grow Cleaner Food and Create New Jobs

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Surviving When You Can't Meet in Person: A Story by Innovation Scholar, Sofia Sill

Thursday, March 26, 2020
Duolingo Launches New App To Help Kids Learn How To Read and Write While Home From School

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Zensors Offers Its Full Platform for Free to Governments, Airports and Businesses Responding to COVID-19

Monday, March 9, 2020
Convertsation AI Software Helps High School Students Foster Productive Discourse

Tuesday, March 3, 2020
CMU Spinoff Locomation and Wilson Logistics Partner on Autonomous Relay Convoy Pilot

Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Choolaah Poised to Open Second Pittsburgh Location

Monday, March 2, 2020
DeltaTrainer Can't Afford A Personal Trainer? Artificial Intelligence Could Help

February 27, 2020
Entrepreneur Meredith Grelli Finds Success With Uncommon Business Model

Wednesday, February 26, 2020
LittleMoochi to Compete at Rice Business Plan Competition

Monday, February 24, 2020
Pittsburgh-based Digital Dream Labs to Expand Team and Relaunch Robots

Thursday, February 20, 2020
Leanplum raises $27 million in additional Series D funding

Thursday, February 20, 2020
Alumni Profile: Courtney Williamson Helps Others Stand Tall

Thursday, February 13, 2020
Army Recognizes CMU Spinoff LumiShield Technologies in Multi-Phase National Competition

Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Maven Machines Raises $7M in Series A Funding