Carnegie Mellon University

News Archives 2018

October 19, 2018
CMU Startup Helps Dog Owners Save Money on Pet Care Items

October 19, 2018
Student-Created Online Tool Wins $79K Grant from Mozilla

October 16, 2018
LaunchCMU Honors Startups Rooted in Scientific Research

October 12, 2018
CMU Alumna and Swartz Fellow JJ Xu Wins Top UpPrize

October 3, 2018
CMU Spinout Bossa Nova Opens Office in the U.K.

September 14, 2018
CMU Startup Pendo, Raises $50M Series D Funding

Friday, August 31, 2018
CMU Credit Card Startup Raises $17M To Help Young People Build Their Credit

Friday, August 31, 2018
CMU Startups Among Finalists in UpPrize Great Solutions Competition

Friday, August 24th, 2018
Gecko Robotics Raises $7M

Friday, August 24th, 2018
Tepper School Alumna Meredith Grelli Featured in the New York Times

Friday, August 10, 2018
Research By Illuminate Ventures Shows Networking is Key to Better Funding Outcomes for Female Entrepreneurs

Friday, August 10, 2018
Evolute Disrupts Cloud Industry with Launch of Enterprise Container and Migration Technology

Thursday, August 2, 2018
NetBeez Selected as Emerging Vendor from CRN

Thursday, August 2, 2018
CMU Related Startup Maven Machines Among Tech Talent Being Nurtured by AlphaLab

Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Apeel Sciences Closes $70M Series C 

Wednesday, July 25, 2018
Equidate Locks Down $50M in New Funding 

Tuesday, July 24, 2018
CMU Startups Among UpPrize Great Solutions Challenge Semi-Finalists 

Tuesday, July 24, 2018
CMU Alumni Accelerate Contract Negotiations with LegalSifter 

Monday, July 23, 2018
Barry Rabkin: A Passion for Problem Solving Products

Friday, July 20, 2018
CMU Tepper Alumnus Launches Kickstarter for BrewCube 

Thursday, July 12, 2018
Kalpesh Kapadia Featured in Tepper Magazine Summer 2018

Tuesday, July 3, 2018
TerrAvion Aerial Imagery Helps Identify Crop Damage Resulting From Weather Related Events

Monday, July 2, 2018
CMU Alumnus Helping To Keep Avocados Ripe Longer 


Thursday, June 28, 2018
CMU Alumnus Ari Rabban Featured in Summer 2018 Tepper Magazine

Friday, June 22, 2018
CMU’s Alumni Entrepreneurs In Residence Have Returned to CMU as Mentors for Students and Alumni

Thursday, June 21, 2018
CMU Spinoff Bossa Nova Raised Another $29M For Its Grocery Store Robots

Thursday, June 21, 2018
CMU Alumnus Jay Jovick Featured in Summer 2018 Tepper Magazine: Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Refugees Are Using the Duolingo App to Communicate with Locals

Thursday, June 14, 2018
Tepper MBA Alumna Alison Alvarez Featured in Tepper Magazine Summer 2018

Tuesday, June 5, 2018
CMU's Tom Galluzzo Addresses the Manual Labor Shortage at MIT Tech Conference

Monday, June 4, 2018
What U.S. Investors Can Learn From an Immigrant Venture Capitalist

Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Impact Proteomics featured at LaunchCMU, an event highlighting CMU entrepreneurship

Thursday, May 24, 2018
The CMU Swartz Center and Oracle Host the Fifth LaunchCMU in the Bay

Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Carnegie Mellon University and Innovation Works Hold Venture Fair for Pittsburgh AI and Robotics Startups

Wednesday, May 9, 2018
ModCloth Co-Founder Launches An Invite-Only Cryptocurrency

Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Wellist Closes $10M Series A Funding

Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Modsy and Clever Team Up to Help You Decorate in 3D

Monday, May 7, 2018
CMU Tepper MBA Michael Provenzano Honored with Poets & Quants Best and Brightest

Monday, April 30, 2018
CMU Spinoff Raises $8M

Thursday, April 26, 2018
Snakebot Named Ground Rescue Robot of the Year

Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Why Google, Uber and Facebook are Flocking to This Quiet Rustbelt City

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Carnegie Mellon, Pittsburgh International Airport Launch Second Innovation Partnership

Monday, April 23, 2018
Top Women in Tech In Pittsburgh

Monday, April 23, 2018
New Fund Invests in Future of CMU Innovators, Entrepreneurs!

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Lenore Blum Honored with 2018 Women of Spirit Award

Monday, April 16, 2018
Niche.com Founder Wins Outstanding CEOs and Top Executives Award

Monday, April 9, 2018
CMU Qatar Trio Takes Top Prize at CMU-Q's Quick Startup Competition

Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Swartz Center For Entrepreneurship Names 2018 McGinnis Venture Competition Winners

Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Swartz Center EIR Robb Myer and IAM Robotics' Tom Galluzzo Win Carnegie Science Awards

Monday, April 2, 2018
Huawei's P20 Series Debuts With Qeexo's FingerSense Technology

Friday, March 30, 2018
AI and Healthcare Startup Take First Prize at the McGinnis Venture Competition

Thursday, March 29, 2018
How CMU Alumnus Kalpesh Kapadia is Helping the Credit Invisibles

Thursday, March 29, 2018
CMU Alumnus Founds Prize for Undergrad Entrepreneurs

Tuesday, March 27, 2018
AI startup wins McGinnis Venture Competition

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
CMU's RadPiper Robot Can Measure Radiation Inside Pipes of Nuclear Facilities

Thursday, March 15, 2018
Wigle Whiskey Receives 'Best in Class Gin' and to Receive Gold Medal for PA Bourbon

Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Young Entrepreneurs: Andy Chan, VIT Co-founder

Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Agility Robotics in the News

Monday, March 12, 2018
Tepper Alumna Laurie Barkman Wins 2018 Women of Influence Award

Thursday, March 8, 2018
Farnam Jahanian Named President of Carnegie Mellon University

Sunday, March 4, 2018
CMU Alumnus Jim Swartz Wins Oscar for Producing "Icarus"

Monday, February 19, 201
$201M Tepper Quad Will Change the Skyline of Carnegie Mellon

Thursday, February 15, 2018
Wigle Whiskey Named James Beard Award Semi Finalist

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
CMU's NetBeez, Zensors and LeanFM Technologies Inducted into PGH Lab Incubator

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Marinus Analytics' Founder Emily Kennedy Named '2018 Toyota Mother of Invention'

Thursday, February 8, 2018
CMU Alumni Awards: Jim Swartz To Receive Inaugural Founders Medal

Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Niche Raises $6.6M, Aims to be One of Pittsburgh's Game-Changing Startups

Thursday, February 1, 2018
McManigle is a Master at Starting Startups