Carnegie Mellon University
spring at cmu

News Archives 2019

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Conservation Labs Raises $1.7 Million in Seed Funding for Smart Water Monitor

Tuesday, November 5, 2019
RedMarlin Raises $10M To Fight Counterfeiting With AI

Monday, November 4, 2019
Goldman Sachs Leads $50M Investment in CMU Credit Card Startup Deserve

Friday, November 1, 2019
CMU Startup GT Entrepreneurs Closes Its Third Deal

Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Zensors CMU'S Zensors Helps Take Stress Out Of Holiday Travel at Pittsburgh International Airport

Monday, October 28, 2019
TalentIPO CMU'S TALENT IPO MAKES POETS & QUANTS LIST OF THE MOST DISRUPTIVE MBA STARTUPS OF 2019

Monday, October 21, 2019
Idelic Announces Partnership with Keep Truckin

Thursday, October 17, 2019
Pendo Raises $100M at a $1B Valuation

Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Headstorm Extends Senior Leadership Team and Opens Office in Pittsburgh

Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Little Moochi Wins First Place at Chinese Association for Science Technology Global Innovation Summit

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
CMU's Teratonix Among Winners of 2019 CleanTech Open Northeast Accelerator

Monday, October 7, 2019
Delta Trainer CMU's Delta Trainer Launches New App and Brings On Trainers and Clients

Friday, October 11, 2019
Four MBA Students Join 2019-2020 Class of Swartz Fellows

Friday, October 4, 2019
CMU Swartz Center and Venture Bridge Startup Presents at TechCrunch's Battlefield Startup Competition

Wednesday, September 25, 2019
CMU Startup Forest Devices Wins $350K at 2019 MedTech Conference

Wednesday, September 25, 2019
CMU Startup Divvy Secures $43M in Series B Funding

Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Vertical Indoor Farming Company Comes Out of Stealth With $35M in Funding and Plans for New Space

Wednesday, September 18, 2019
CMU's Idelic Raises $8M Series A Led By Origin Ventures

Wednesday, September 4, 2019
BlastPoint Inc. Selected by Plug & Play For Its Energy and Sustainability Group

Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Fall 2019 CONNECTS Series Lineup

Thursday, August 29, 2019
CMU's Beyond Lucid Technologies Wins Frost and Sullivan Technology Leadership Award

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Young Entrepreneur: Aashay Doshi's Plan to Help Pay Off Student Debt

Monday, August 19, 2019
OraSure Sells Cryosurgical Systems for $12M to its Neighbor in Bethlehem, PA

Thursday, August 15, 2019
AI Startup Gather Uses Drones and Computer Vision for Warehouse Inventory

Thursday, August 15, 2019
CMU Alumnus Holds Hackathon for High School Students at the CMU Swartz Center

Tuesday, August 13, 2019
CMU's Comprehend Systems Gets Acquired by Saama

Friday, August 9, 2019
CMU Startups Selected as Finalists for Pittsburgh Technology Council Tech50 2019

Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Swartz Fellow Wins $10,000 Prize for AI-powered Virtual Pet

Monday, July 29, 2019
Allegheny County Airport Authority Partners with CMU Spinoff Zensors

Friday, July 26, 2019
Undergraduate Students are Starting Their Own Companies to Pay for College

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
CMU Spinout RoadBotics Closes $7.5M Series A

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
CMU Student Matt Spettel Partners with MIT Student to Create an App to Track Exercise Movements

Monday, July 8, 2019
CMU Tepper Alumna and AbiliLife, Inc. Founder Courtney Williamson, Ph.D. Gives Inspiring TEDx Talk

Monday, July 8, 2019
How AbiliLife's Founder is Bringing Parkinson's Patients Better Support

Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Fast Company Ranks Deserve Cards Among the World’s Most Innovative Businesses

Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Meredith Grelli Becomes Member of the Pittsburgh Business Times Leadership Trust

Friday, June 28, 2019
CMU Alumnus Luke Schneider Featured in Tepper Magazine

Monday, June 24, 2019
Carnegie Mellon, Argo AI Form Center for Autonomous Vehicle Research with $15M Multiyear Grant

Friday, June 21, 2019
Zensors Launches AI-Powered 3D Vehicle Tracking System Using Existing Cameras

Friday, June 21, 2019
CMU Alumna and DiligenceVault Founder Featured in Tepper School Magazine: Enterprising Leaders

Thursday, June 20, 2019
CMU's Precision Neuroscopics Team Receives $19M from DARPA to Create Noninvasive Brain Interface

Thursday, June 13, 2019
CMU's Edge Case Research Secures $7M to Make Autonomy Safer

Wednesday, June 12, 2019
CMU Alumnus Glen de Vries Sells Medidata for $5.8B to Dassaulte Systems

Monday, June 10, 2019
CMU Alumnus Will Lutz Featured in New Jersey Business Publication

Friday, June 7, 2019
Announcing the VentureBridge SV 2019 Cohort

Thursday, June 6, 2019
Self-driving Car Startup Gatik Emerges from Stealth with $4.5M in Seed Funding and Walmart Partnership

Friday, May 31, 2019
The Robert and Kathleen Dobkin Intuitive Foundation Supports Startups with $1.5 million Gift to Carnegie Mellon University and Swartz Center

Friday, May 31, 2019 
Astrobotic Selected by NASA to Deliver Science and Research Cargo to the Moon

Friday, May 31, 2019 
Enterprising Leaders: Rob Southern, CEO of Ascend Software

Thursday, May 30, 2019
CMU’s Corporate Startup Lab Partners with Companies to Infuse Their Corporate Structure with the Agility and Ingenuity of a Startup

Tuesday, May 21, 2019
CMU Startup Modsy Raises $37M in Series C Funding

Monday, May 20, 2019 
RE2 Robotics Receives $3M in Funding to Develop Dexterous Underwater Robotic Hand for US Navy

Thursday, May 16, 2019 
CMU Spinout Yodel Labs Wins $50K at AlphaLab Gear Hardware Cup International Finals

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 
CMU Startup Algorithmia Raises $25M Series B

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 
One America Works Launches in Pittsburgh

May 14, 2019
Tepper MBA Students Trek Across the Country

Friday, May 10, 2019 
Swartz Spotlight: Idelic Makes Trucking Safer

Friday, May 10, 2019 
Lenore Blum Receives Inaugural Dean's Professorship in Tech EntrepreneurshipDelta Band Featured in CMU's The Tartan

Monday, May 6, 2019 
Pittsburgh Has Reinvented Itself as an Education, Medical and Tech City

Sunday, April 28, 2019 
Delta Band Featured in CMU's The Tartan

Monday, April 22, 2019 
Safest Seats, LLC Moves to CMU Campus, Raising Capital for Next Product

Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Young Entrepreneur: JJ Xu Gives Workers a Smart Coach on Their SmartphoneAlumni Spotlight: Meredith Grelli Crafts Experiences

 Tuesday, April 16, 2019 
CMU Alumnus Adam Simone Discusses Leaf Shave, the All-metal, Eco-friendly Razor

Friday, April 5, 2019 
Alumni Spotlight: Meredith Grelli Crafts Experiences

Thursday, April 4, 2019 
A Northside Startup is Using Facial Recognition to Help Law Enforcement Catch Sex Traffickers

Friday, March 29, 2019
McGinnis Venture Competition Funds Winning Student Startups

Friday, March 29, 2019
Wearable Strength Training Platform and Sustainable Food System Win Top Prize in the 2019 McGinnis Venture Competition

Thursday, March 28, 2019 
Bain Buys Majority Stake in CMU Spinoff and Beauty Incubator, Maesa

Friday, March 22, 2019 
CMU Alumnus' Company Listed Among Nine Favorites by TechCrunch

Friday, March 15, 2019
CMU Alumnus to Lead $100M Wisconn Valley Venture Fund

Friday, March 8, 2019
CMU Wearable Startup Effortlessly Tracks Your Gym Workouts

Friday, March 8, 2019
Carnegie Mellon's Tepper School of Business Scores High Rankings For Entrepreneurship In Bloomberg Businessweek Report

Wednesday, March 6, 2019
CMU Alumnus Michael Preysman Featured in the Wall Street Journal

Friday, March 1, 2019
Who Won the AlphaLab Gear Pittsburgh Hardware Cup

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Deserve Cards named One of the Most Innovative Companies in 2019 by Fast Company

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Former Google Exec Invests $2M in Pittsburgh Tech Firm, Niche