Carnegie Mellon University

swartz fellows

October 11, 2019

Four MBA Students Join 2019-2020 Class of Swartz Fellows

Twelve new graduate students at Carnegie Mellon University have been selected as James R. Swartz Entrepreneurial Fellows in its newest class, including Tepper School of Business MBA students Melissa Bizzari, Emily Ellis, Daniel McDade, and Austen Sybert.

Through the Swartz Fellows program, the Swartz Center for Entrepreneurship supports aspiring entrepreneurs at CMU with mentorship and learning opportunities. Fellows connect with a network of university faculty, staff, and alumni with entrepreneurial experience — as well as local business leaders, investors, and executives — for guidance and support through the process of launching a business.

“The Swartz Fellowship provides such an important opportunity to get amazing students — in business, in engineering, in the sciences, in design and art — to come together, learn from each other, and build their startups,” said David Mawhinney, Executive Director of the Swartz Center, Associate Teaching Professor of Entrepreneurship. “The Swartz Center is there to provide the tools and resources for these students to succeed, and to help them build a network of mentors and investors so they hit the ground running.” 

Swartz Fellows also complete a summer internship with a startup company in the San Francisco Bay Area, and have other opportunities to participate in additional networking trips in the Bay Area. In addition, they may participate in roundtable discussions with entrepreneurial leaders invited to speak at the Swartz Center for events such as the CONNECTS seminar series

The complete list of 2019-2020 Swartz Fellows includes students from across the Carnegie Mellon campus:

  • Shrey Agrawal, Integrated Innovation Institute
  • Melissa Bizzari, Tepper School of Business
  • Rogerio Bonatti, School of Computer Science
  • Emily Ellis, Tepper School of Business
  • Christianne Francovich, College of Fine Arts
  • Isha Hans, College of Fine Arts
  • Aparna Jaggi, College of Engineering
  • Mihir Joshi, College of Engineering
  • Daniel McDade, Tepper School of Business
  • Austen Sybert, Tepper School of Business
  • Lois Weisfuse, Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy
  • Brian Yan, School of Computer Science 

The fellowship program is supported by Jim Swartz (MSIA 1966), Founding Partner of Accel Partners.