Carnegie Mellon University

Secure a Meeting or Class

It is crucial to secure your CMU Zoom meetings. Doing so ensures a safe and comfortable online learning and work environment. 

For that reason, all CMU Zoom meetings will be restricted by default in the following ways:

  • All meetings will require a passcode. This cannot be changed on an individual basis.
  • Only the host will be able to share content in meetings. This can be adjusted from within a meeting or class using Zoom's security options.

Review the following sections for guidance on changing your Zoom Profile Settings and using the new Zoom security features for even greater control.

Apply Our Recommended Settings

Step 1: Log In to Your Profile Settings

  1. Open the Zoom app.
  2. Click Sign In.
  3. Choose Sign In with SSO.
  4. Enter cmu into the Enter your company domain field, then click Continue.
  5. Enter your Andrew userID and password to log in. Never use your personal Zoom account for CMU business or classwork.
  6. The Zoom app will open and you may close the browser.

Step 2: Configure Your Settings

  1. Visit cmu.zoom.us and click Sign In.
  2. Click Settings (left) and then Meeting (top).
  3. Update the following settings:

    • Host video (disable)
    • Participants video (disable)
    • Join before host (disable)
    • Mute participants upon entry (enable)
    • Require a passcode for Personal Meeting ID (PMI) for all meetings (enable)
  4. Close your browser.

Note: Changes made in your Profile Settings will apply to all future meetings.

Take Control of In-Progress Meetings

Access Security Options

Zoom's Security menu provides core features the host needs to manage meetings. These features are only visible to the meeting host or co-host(s).

  1. Start the meeting and hover your cursor over the bottom of the screen to display the toolbar.
  2. Click Security to view the options.
  3. If you experience Zoombombing, end the meeting immediately and then report the incident to iso-ir@andrew.cmu.edu.

Enable the Waiting Room

When you enable the waiting room, participants are unable to join your meeting until you admit them. Turn this feature on when starting or scheduling a meeting.

zoom_waitingrooms.jpg
WATCH THE VIDEO

Set Security Options

The new Zoom Security button allows you to control participant sharing, enable waiting rooms, and lock and remove participants from meetings, all from one location.

zoom_security.jpg
WATCH THE VIDEO

Manage Zoombombing

What Should You Do If You Get Zoombombed?

  1. Remain calm and do not acknowledge the Zoombomber.
  2. Determine if you can identify the Zoombomber in the Participants panel.
  3. if you are unable to identify them, disable all participant controls (Scenario 1).
  4. If you are able to identify them, remove them from the meeting (Scenario 2).

Scenario 1: You Can't Identify the Zoombomber

If you're running a session with a large number of participants, it's likely you don't know who the Zoombomber is. If this is the case:
  1. Click the Security button.
  2. Deselect all options under Allow Participants to in the following order:
    • Share Screen
    • Unmute Themselves
    • Rename Themselves
    • Chat
  3. Click the Security button and select Lock Meeting.

Note: When options are deselected, they immediately become unavailable to all participants and shared content is instantly removed.

Scenario 2: You Can Identify the Zoombomber

If you can easily identify the Zoombomber from the participant list, which is often the case with smaller virtual gatherings:
  1. Click the Security button and select Remove Participant.
  2. Click the Remove link to the right of the participant's name.
  3. Click OK to confirm. The individual will be unable to return to the meeting.
  4. Click the Security button and select Lock Meeting.