Carnegie Mellon University

Dietrich College Graduate Student Teaching Award

All graduate students in the Dietrich College of Humanities & Social Sciences are eligible for nomination. Each department in the college may nominate one graduate student. Departments may solicit letters of recommendation for more than one candidate and use these letters to decide which candidate will be the departmental nominee. Students who have been nominated in the past, but who did not receive the award, may be nominated again.

Selection Committee: The recipient will be chosen by a college-wide committee appointed by the Dean.

Nomination Deadline: Nominations should be submitted to the Dietrich College Dean’s Office by January 31, 2018.

Nomination Requirements: Nominations should describe the qualities and activities of the nominee that make him or her excellent candidate for the award. The nomination packet should include the following:

  • A covering letter addressed to the Dietrich College Graduate Student Teaching Award Committee that summarizes the individual’s accomplishments
  • Up to three letters of recommendation from faculty who are familiar with the nominee’s teaching performance
  • Letters from undergraduate students
  • FCE scores

Additional materials such as comments from FCE forms, other measures of teaching effectiveness, problem sets or curricular materials created by the nominee, etc. are also welcomed. Letters from previous nominations as well as letters solicited in connection with other teaching awards may be used.

Nominations should each be submitted as a single pdf file, and emailed to by January 31, 2018. (Please note: This is an unmonitored email address, you need only to send a blank email with the file attached.)

Past Winners

2018    Andras Molnar, Sophie Qin and Jamie Smith (co-winners), Social and Decision Sciences, Modern Languages and English
2017    Aidan Kestigian and Mary Glavan (co-winners), Philosophy and English
2016    Ana Cooke and Sihui (Echo) Ke (co-winners), English and Modern Languages
2015    Dan Walter, Modern Languages
2014    Sheila Liming, English
2013    Doug Cloud and Ryan Miller (co-winners), English and Modern Languages
2012    Heather Steffen and Yun (Helen) Zhao (co-winners), English and Modern Languages
2011    Shuai Li, Modern Languages
2010    Emily Klein, English
2009    David Gray, Philosophy
2008    Alex Bennett and Chan Lu (co-winners), History and Modern Languages
2007    Necia Werner, English
2006    Yuki Yoshimura, Modern Languages
2005    Yuki Yoshimura, Modern Languages
2004    Susan Hagan, English
2003    Eiko Ushida, Modern Languages
2002    Rebecca Kluchin, History
2001    Susan Lawrence, English