Carnegie Mellon University


Dietrich College faculty, students and alumni are among the very best in their fields and have earned personal and professional recognition from national and international organizations, including:

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

The National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Education

John R. Anderson was named a Franklin Institute Laureate  “for the development of the first large-scale computational theory of the process by which humans perceive, learn and reason, and its application to computer tutoring systems."

Mariana Achugar won a Guggenheim Fellowship to explore what Uruguayan teenagers know about the military dictatorship and how they learn about it by following nine high school students from different political, social and educational backgrounds.

In 2007 and 2008, Social and Decision Sciences’ David Hounshell and History’s Joel Tarr won back-to-back Da Vinci Awards from the Society of the History of Technology. The award recognizes a lifetime of excellence in the history of technology.

Other Notable Awards and Recognitions:

*Indicates deceased.