Carnegie Mellon University
April 17, 2015

Four English Department Majors Named Dietrich College Honors Fellows

The four English department majors named Dietrich College Honors Fellows.The four English department majors named Dietrich College Honors Fellows.

Four exceptional juniors from the English Department have been selected to be 2015-16 Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences Honors Fellows. The Honors Fellowship Program – in its second year – is part of the college’s Senior Honors Program and is designed to give students a head start on their thesis development.

The fellowship program does this by providing students with support to spend the summer before their senior year researching their thesis topics. The extra time allows them to focus on their projects while not also juggling demanding course loads, internships and other extracurricular activities.

“I’m both thrilled and humbled to have been selected as a fellow for this year’s program,” said Laurnie Wilson, a creative writing and history double major who will be working with English Professor Jane Bernstein to create a series of narratives that examine themes of growth and self-discovery from the perspective of a young woman. “I’m excited for many aspects of the approaching summer, however, I’m most looking forward to the chance I will have to fully devote myself to my art. During the semester, it can be difficult to set aside time to write, and creative inspiration can be hard to come by. The fellowship not only encourages but requires me to pursue a meaningful project, while the generous funding allows for me to completely immerse myself in this work, without any other distractions.”

Congratulations to Laurnie, Eleanor Haglund, a creative writing major, Kaytie Nielsen, a creative writing and directing double major, and Sayre Olson, an English and creative writing double major!

Read the full story.