Carnegie Mellon University
November 02, 2023

Dietrich College Seniors Named ACS Scholars

Abby Simmons

Eight seniors from Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences have been named Andrew Carnegie Society (ACS) Scholars. ACS Scholars are undergraduate students who embody Carnegie Mellon University’s high standards of academic excellence, volunteerism, leadership and involvement in student organizations, athletics or the arts. They are selected each year by their deans and department heads to represent their class in service and leadership.

Each scholar receives a monetary award — made possible by the generosity of ACS members — to support their academic and personal growth.

In addition, the ACS Scholars participate in an annual event where, as a group, they allocate $5,000 back to the campus community in order to learn more about philanthropy. From November to the end of February, current CMU students are encouraged to apply for this funding on behalf of their campus organizations or student-led projects.

The 2024 Dietrich College ACS Scholars include:

Sarah Abrams
Department of English

Mennatallah Barghout
Department of Social and Decision Sciences

Aiwen Chen
Departments of Philosophy and Psychology

Letian Huang
Department of Philosophy

Jo-Michelle Huczko
Departments of History and Philosophy

Raaka Mukhopadhyay
Department of Statistics & Data Science

Marissa Pekular
Carnegie Mellon Institute for Strategy and Technology

Emmeline Wetzel
Information Systems