Carnegie Mellon University
May 22, 2015

2015 Adamson Student Writing Awards Winners

Pulitzer-winning poet, Tracy K. Smith, presented the Department of English’s Adamson Student Writing Awards on April 30. She also served as the keynote speaker.

The annual Adamson Student Writing Awards are presented to students who excel in fiction, non-fiction, non-fiction writing for academic and popular journals, poetry, and screenwriting. The event is also the department’s annual celebration of writing. The awards are given in honor of Pauline B. Adamson at the bequest of her husband, the late Clarence H. Adamson, as a testimonial to their marriage and her interest in the English Language and American Literature.

The winners of the 2015 Adamson Student Writing Awards are:


First Place: Elana Goldberg, "On Daisies"

Second Place: Jason Choi, "Asian American"

Third Place: Christopher Sickler, "Seeing Yourself Seeing Yourself"

Honorable Mention: Emily Clark, "Stay"

Non-Fiction for Academic Journals

First Place: Snigdha Roy, "Arranged Marriage:  A Borderlands Perspective"

Second Place: Brian Trimboli, "She Can Play That Game Too: The Construction of the Collegiate Woman in Feminist News Discourse"

Third Place: Laura Berry, "Playing House: Maternity, Sexuality, and Food in the Fiction of Yoko Ogawa" 

Honorable Mention: Kari Thomas, "Hermione Granger and Female Empowerment in Rowling's “Harry Potter” Series" 

Non-Fiction For Popular Journals

First Place: Rachel Cohen, “Interfaith”

Second Place: Jason Choi, “Confucius Plays Dice in Flushing”

Third Place: Elana Goldberg, “Round Trip on the Deadhead Express”

Honorable Mention: Laura Berry, “The Violinist's Web”


First Place: Kelsey Dolhon

Second Place: Christopher Schuler

Third Place: Michael Mingo

Honorable Mention: Abigail Nover and Naomi Sternstein


First Place: Chris Galvin, “Daughterhood”

Second Place: Barbara Samaniego, “Vera”

Third Place: Marisa Breitfeller, “Mommy”

Honorable Mention: Kari Thomas, “Consurgence”

Additional Awards

Academy of American Poets First Place: Alexandra George

CMU Press Prize: Ree Sherwood

Donna Grear Award: Von Wise

Edythe and Leon Nagin Honors Thesis Award (Awarded for the best creative writing undergraduate honors thesis): Christopher Sickler, "The Battle of Monmouth and Other Stories"

The winners were selected by off-campus, distinguished writers. The awards are open to all Carnegie Mellon undergraduates and graduate students. Learn more about the Adamson Student Writing Awards.

Related Link

Pultizer Prize Winner to Speak at Adamson Awards


By: Amanda King