Carnegie Mellon University
August 19, 2013

Joe Monte Receives Steinberg Award

Joe Monte Receives Steinberg Award

Joe Monte (MAPW ’13) has won the 2013 Erwin R. Steinberg MAPW Scholarship. The $1,500 scholarship was established in 2007 and is awarded annually to a third-semester MAPW student who excels in Style, a course Steinberg taught for many years in the MAPW program. The winner must also show the integrity, intellectual curiosity and citizenship that Steinberg displayed while founding and developing the MAPW program over his long career at Carnegie Mellon.

Monte joins previous Steinberg Award winners Frank Gambino (2007), Greg Gaudio (2008), Erin Akemi Jones (2009), Veronica Olson (2010), Jennifer Dorsey (2011), and Brad Walker (2012).

“Over the past year, I have had the opportunity to work with a great group of communicators and learn from a faculty that commits itself to helping students figure out this whole field (trade, art, science, occasional exercise in mental ballet, and license to compel) we call writing,” Monte said. “Dr. Steinberg was a pioneer. I believe that it was through his ability and desire to educate that he so masterfully fostered this program, teaching students how to not only kill with kindness, but also wake with words and revive with rhetoric.”

Monte worked for the Director's Office in the Human Resources Department at the Port Authority (NY) for his summer internship. Having majored in English, Rhetoric, and Global Culture at Binghamton University, Monte decided to pursue a graduate program for professional writing, which he considers the perfect path for the English major of the 21st century. Monte would hope to specifically have a career in PR and management/organization consultation for restaurants, ideally in NYC. However, he is also keeping his eye out for any radio or media related opportunities.

Congratulations to Joe, the 2013 winner of the Erwin R. Steinberg MAPW Scholarship!