Carnegie Mellon University

Meet the Members of the Search Committee

In order to help identify the best candidates for the critical position of provost, President Jahanian appointed an advisory search committee, chaired by Richard Scheines, Dean of the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences and Professor of Philosophy. Mary Jo Dively, Vice President and General Counsel, will serve as vice chair. The full list of search committee members are listed below. The committee will be assisted by the executive search firm Isaacson, Miller.

Committee Leadership

A photo of Richard Scheines

Richard Scheines, Chair

Dean, Dietrich College of Humanities & Social Sciences

A photo of Mary Jo Dively

Mary Jo Dively, Co-Chair

Vice President and General Counsel

Committee Members

Martin Aurand, Principal Librarian/Architecture Archivist 

Martial Hebert, Director of the Robotics Institute

Roberta Klatzky, Charles J. Queenan Jr. Professor of Psychology

Kristen Kurland, Teaching Professor of Architecture, Information Systems & Public Policy

Diana Marculescu, David Edward Schramm Professor and Associate Department Head for Academic Affairs, Electrical & Computer Engineering; and Director of College of Engineering Center for Faculty Success

Curtis Meyer, Professor of Physics and MCS Associate Dean for Research

Scott Mory, Vice President for University Advancement

Michael Murphy, Distinguished Service Professor, Integrated Innovation Institute, College of Engineering

Michael D. Smith, Professor of Information Technology & Marketing

Everett Tademy, Assistant Vice President, Equal Opportunity Services and University Ombudsman

Charlie White, Head of the School of Art

Sevin Yeltekin, Professor of Economics and Senior Associate Dean of Education