Carnegie Mellon University

This is where your future begins – living and learning in a college setting that will challenge you to discover your best self.

Carnegie Mellon’s Pre-College Programs mirrors the undergraduate experience, giving rising juniors and seniors the opportunity to explore their interests and passions while receiving instruction from acclaimed Carnegie Mellon faculty and staff. We provide a holistic and robust student experience that includes academic and personal development both inside and outside of the classroom in order to prepare students for the future.

Application Dates

Early Decision and International Application Deadline: February 1
Regular Decision, Scholarship, AIS, CSS, and SAMS* Application Deadline: March 15

Please note: 
• Early Decision is NOT binding.
• Early, Regular, and International Application decisions are rolling admission.
• AIS, CSS, SAMS, and Scholarship Application decisions are sent on April 5. 

*AI Scholars (AIS), Computer Science Scholars (CSS), Summer Academy for Math and Science (SAMS) 

Program Dates

Opening Day: Saturday, July 1, 2023
Orientation Day: Sunday, July 2, 2023
First Day of Classes: Monday, July 3, 2023
No Classes: Tuesday, July 4, 2023
3-Week Program Classes End: Friday, July 21, 2023 (Residential Move-Out: Sat., July 22)
4-Week Program Classes End: Friday, July 28, 2023 (Residential Move-Out: Sat., July 29)
5-Week Program Classes End: Friday, August 4, 2023 (Residential Move-Out: Sat., August 5)
6-Week Program Classes End: Friday, August 11, 2023 (Residential Move-Out: Sat., August 12)

Please note: 
• Opening Day is the primary move-in day for residential students. Early Arrival is approved on an individual basis. 
• Orientation Day is required for residential and commuter students, providing students and families with important program and campus life information. 
• International students arrive on Thursday, June 29, with International Orientation on Friday, June 30. 
• ALL residential students must vacate the dorms by 2:00pm on the Saturday following the close of their program.