Carnegie Mellon University
August 21, 2012

Brad Walker Receives Steinberg Award

By David Golebiewski

Brad Walker Receives Steinberg Award

Brad Walker (MAPW ’12) has won the 2012 Erwin R. Steinberg MAPW Scholarship. The $1,500 scholarship was established in 2007 and is awarded annually to a third-semester MAPW student who excels in Style, a course Steinberg taught for many years in the MAPW program. The winner must also show the integrity, intellectual curiosity and citizenship that Steinberg displayed while founding and developing the MAPW program over his long career at Carnegie Mellon.

Walker joins previous Steinberg Award winners Frank Gambino (2007), Greg Gaudio (2008), Erin Akemi Jones (2009), Veronica Olson (2010) and Jennifer Dorsey (2011).

“I'm honored to have won the 2012 Steinberg scholarship and have my work in the MAPW program recognized by faculty in this way,” Walker said. “Dr. Steinberg played a significant role in establishing the MAPW program, so I'm proud to have been chosen to receive a scholarship named for him.”

Walker worked in communications for the Office of Child Development at the University of Pittsburgh for his summer internship. With teaching degrees from Belmont University and Middle Tennessee State University, Walker plans to pursue a career as either a professional writing instructor or a web design and content developer in non-profit communications.

Congratulations to Brad, the 2012 winner of the Erwin R. Steinberg MAPW Scholarship!