Carnegie Mellon University
June 06, 2012

The 2012 Student Writing Award Winners

Adamson Awards | Additional Awards

Adamson Awards

Each year the Adamson Student Writing Awards are presented for student excellence in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, screenwriting and writing for academic journals. The awards are given in honor of Pauline B. Adamson at the bequest of her husband, the late Clarence H. Adamson, as a testimonial to their marriage and her interest in the English Language and American Literature. Winners are selected by off-campus writers and the awards are presented at a formal event in the spring. Below are the winners of the 2012 Adamson Student Writing Awards:


First Place: Coleman Lamb, "The Lesbian Wedding"

Second Place: Matthew Mastricova, "Heart Swells, Pacific Daylight Time"

Third Place: Samantha Frank, "My Mother's Arms"

Honorable Mention: Jack Homer, Ahmed Osman


First Place: Ila Foley, "A Family Disease"

Second Place: Aaron Jentzen, "From San Antonio to Scotland, Silver Thistle Goes for the Gold"

Third Place: Sam Frank, "The Empathy of Embers"

Honorable Mention: Aurelia Henderson, Yulin Kuang, Magdalen Silberman, Kristen Swanson


First Place: Ines Pujos

Second Place: Madeleine Barnes

Third Place: Sara Keats

Honorable Mention: Sam Frank, Brian Sherwin


First Place: Coleman Lamb, "The Will"

Second Place: Elias Diamond, "A Trial"

Third Place: Magdalen Silberman, "Partners"

Honorable Mention: Yulin Kuang

Writing for Academic Journals (Graduate Students)

First Place: Heather Steffen, "A Job that Gets Old Fast: Age Studies, Academic Labor Criticism, and The Graduate Employee"

Second Place: Juliann Reineke, "Crossing Boundaries, The Railway in Wilkie Collins The Woman in White"

Third Place: Erin Kathleen Mulhern, "Re-examining the Lorax and Cultural Conceptions of Evil"

Writing for Academic Journals (Undergraduate)

First Place: Caroline Roper, "Case Study of the Discovery of Quasicrystals: Rhetorical Strategies Used in a Paradigm Shift"

Second Place: Brian Sherwin, "A Homemade Intertextuality: George Oppen's 'Negative Capability'"

Third Place: J Young, "Speaking Truthiness To Power, The Success Story of the Daily Show and The Colbert Report"

Additional Awards

Academy of American Poets

First Place: Andre Price

Honorable Mention: Elias Diamond, Yulin Kuang

CMU Press Prize

First Place (Poetry): Nina Mohan

First Place (Fiction): Magdalen Silberman

Honorable Mention (Poetry): Marisa Hughes

Donna Grear Memorial Award

Caroline Kessler

Edythe and Leon Nagin Honors Thesis Award (Awarded for the best creative writing undergraduate honors thesis)

Katie Dixon

Hilary Masters Prize for Literary Nonfiction/Personal Essay

Coleman Lamb