Carnegie Mellon University
May 13, 2011

The 2011 Student Writing Award Winners

Adamson Awards | Academy of American Poet's Prize | CMU Press Prize | Hilary Masters Award

Congratulations to the 2011 winners of the Student Writing Awards. These awards are presented annually for student excellence in fiction, poetry, screenwriting, and non-fiction, and are open to undergraduate and graduate students throughout the Carnegie Mellon University community. Author Wang Ping spoke at this year's ceremony, which was held on April 29, 2011. The winners' names are listed below.

Adamson Awards

The Adamson Awards are presented in honor of Pauline B. Adamson at the bequest of her husband, the late Clarence H. Adamson.


First Place: M. Callen, "The Possible Life"
Second Place: Caroline Kessler, "An Event With My Brother"
Second Place: Carolyn Supinka, "Coal Dust Songs"
Third Place: Shannon Stephens, "We Sit at The Original Hotdog Stand"
Honorable Mention: Ellene Mobbs, "Contending Erasure"
Honorable Mention: Kristen Staab, "Passing Through"
Honorable Mention: Laura Alfonso, "After Delila, Jealousy, Crosswalks, Alice, Bus Noises, Relapse"


First Place: Yulin Kuang, "Fade Out"
Second Place: Dan O'Niel, "Baggage"
Third Place: Liz Ellison, "Parked"
Honorable Mention: Laura Patzer, "In the Diamond House"

Non-Fiction for Academic Journals

First Place: Calvin W. Pollak, "Native American Identities in the Rhetoric of President Andrew Jackson"
Second Place: Corinna Archer, "Colorblind, Midsummer: A Cultural Performance of Race, Gender, and Queen Titania"
Third Place: Meaghan Kasprzycki, "Roaming Rome in Search of Self: Reclaiming Jewish Identity in Bernard Malmud's The Last Mohican"
Honorable Mention: Sara Keats, "Act of Commodity: Different Approaches to Discussing the Performed Identity of the Tourist"

Creative Non-Fiction

First Place: Mackenzie Evan Smith, "Afterschool Rules"
First Prize in Graduate Creative Non-Fiction: Aaron Jentzen, "Developmental Stage: Musicians Honor Their Craft at Acousticafe, Pittsburgh's Best Known Open Mic Night"
Second Place: Coleman Lamb, "When the Lights Go Out on Broadway"
Third Place: Shannon Azzato Stephens, "B is for Brandi, Relearning the Alphabet in Mississippi"
Honorable Mention: M. Callen, "Definitions of Fictional Forms as Detailed Through Various Accounts of My Failed Love Life"
Honorable Mention: Jesse J. Leung, "Black Magic Mama"


First Place: Yulin Kuang, "Adam and Eve, a Love Story"
Second Place: Scott Rosenfeld, "In Search Of"
Third Place: M. Callen, "Three Fires"
Honorable Mention: Sara Keats, "Whammy"
Honorable Mention: Coleman Lamb, "The Final Confession of a Thief in the Night"
Honorable Mention: Emily Nagin, "The Size of Fate"
Honorable Mention: Caroline Kessler, "Marriage in Two Voices"

Academy of American Poet's Prize

Winner: Madeleine Barnes, "Side Effects"
Honorable Mention: Marci Calabretta, "The Last Intimate Moment"
Honorable Mention: Alex Ysuchik, "Professions"

CMU Press Prize

Winner: Ines Pujos, "And This is Not a Love Letter" and other poems

Hilary Masters Award

The Hilary Masters Award for the personal essay was made possible by the alumnus Vijay Palaparty.

Winner: Olivia London, "The Execution"