Carnegie Mellon University
March 03, 2021

Announcing the Search for a Vice President for University Communications and Marketing

Dear Faculty and Staff,

As you may recall, following transitions in the executive management team announced last year, our Marketing and Communications Division has been under interim leadership for the past several months. I am deeply grateful to Scott Mory for serving as interim vice president, in addition to his role as Vice President for University Advancement. With the support of both divisions’ strong leadership teams, he has done an exceptional job managing the university’s many communications needs at this unprecedented time. 

Given the need for individual leadership at the helm of both divisions, and as we look ahead to the start of the next academic year, today we launch a national search for a Vice President for University Communications and Marketing. The position’s updated title reflects the value and importance of a university-wide vision and strategy for these vital areas. 

This key leadership position will be responsible for formulating and executing a comprehensive communications strategy for telling the CMU story and enhancing our global reputation. The Vice President will lead a division of integrated communications, marketing and creative programs, with teams focused on media relations, content, research news, admissions, internal communications, social media, and visitor experience, among other areas. This leader will also partner with academic units to provide support and coordination for communications programs that advance our education and research missions. The Vice President for University Communications and Marketing will report to me, serving as my principal advisor on all communications-related matters, and will engage and support stakeholders across the university.

I am grateful to Rebecca Doerge, Glen de Vries Dean of the Mellon College of Science, and Scott Mory, Vice President for University Advancement and Interim Vice President for Marketing and Communications, who have agreed to co-chair the search advisory committee. The other members of the search advisory committee are: 

  • Shawn Blanton, Trustee Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Interim Vice Provost for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • Mary Jo Dively, Vice President and General Counsel, and Secretary of the Corporation
  • Kristen Kurland, Teaching Professor of Architecture, Information Systems, and Public Policy
  • Jon Nehlsen, Associate Dean of Advancement, External Relations and Marketing, Heinz College of Public Policy and Information Systems
  • Rebecca Nugent, Stephen E. and Joyce Fienberg Professor of Statistics and Data Science
  • Mark Power, Chief Marketing & Communications Officer, School of Computer Science
  • Bill Sanders, William D. and Nancy W. Strecker Dean of the College of Engineering
  • Barb Shinn-Cunningham, George A. and Helen Dunham Cowan Professor of Auditory Neuroscience, and Director, Neuroscience Institute
  • Alida Smith, Associate Vice President for Marketing
  • Charlie White, Regina and Marlin Miller Head, School of Art
  • Anita Williams Woolley, Associate Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory

I wish to thank the members of the search committee for their commitment and service to the university. As part of its charge, the committee will play an active role in identifying qualified individuals, encouraging nominations and applications, and monitoring the confidential applicant pool to ensure quality and diversity. The committee will also actively engage key university stakeholders to obtain input on select candidates.

The committee will be assisted by the executive search firm Aspen Leadership Group. Please visit the search website to review the position prospectus and to submit nominations. 

Our colleagues who work in communications and marketing serve a critical role at CMU positioning the university and its colleges, promoting the cutting-edge research and creative work of our faculty, and celebrating the achievements of our faculty, students, staff, alumni and community. I look forward to welcoming the next vice president who will lead these efforts to even greater heights of excellence


Farnam Jahanian
Henry L. Hillman President's Chair