Carnegie Mellon University

The Department of Psychology Majors and Minors

Bachelor of Arts in Psychology 

Bachelor of Science in Psychology

Bachelor of Science in Cognitive Science

Bachelor of Science in Neuroscience

Bachelor of Science in Psychology and Biological Sciences

The Department of Psychology offers 5 undergraduate majors: a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, a Bachelor of Science in Psychology, a Bachelor of Science in Cognitive Science, a joint Bachelor of Science (in conjunction with the Department of Biological Sciences) in Psychology and Biological Sciences, and an inter-college Bachelor of Science degree in Neuroscience.  All of these degrees feature courses taught by experts, an opportunity for students to learn about and even get involved in cutting edge research, and a focus on developing highly skilled graduates.  About half of our graduates go on to graduate or professional school. The remainder seek to expand their problem-oriented skills so that job opportunities beyond those typically open to liberal arts students are available. Majors in the department are expected not only to learn about findings already established by psychologists, but also to become proficient in the investigation and analysis of behavior.

In addition, the department offers two minors, one in psychology and one in cognitive neuroscience.  Both of these minors provide the opportunity for students to complement other majors with courses with an emphasis on analyzing and understanding human behavior.