Carnegie Mellon University

Voting Trustees

The business, property and affairs of the Corporation are managed by or under the direction of a Board of Trustees of the Corporation. The Board of Trustees shall consist of a minimum of 40 voting members, including ex-officio members, with the number of voting trustees to be determined from time to time by the trustees. Voting trustees members are divided into five classes; one class of trustees is elected each year at the annual meeting to succeed those whose terms expire in that year and to serve for a term of five years.

The term of each trustee typically commences on July 1 following his or her election. A trustee’s term expires on June 30 in the year in which his or her term is concluded, or June 30 following his or her 75th birthday, whichever occurs first. Upon the recommendation of the Nominating and Governance Committee, the Board of Trustees may grant the status of Emeritus/a Trustee to those members who have made distinguished contributions to the University and who have attained at least age 60 or a maximum of age 75.

2020-21 Voting Trustees

Joel Adams, general partner, Adams Capital Management, Inc.
Lane M. Bess, principal and founder, Bess Ventures and Advisory
Ronald Bianchini, Jr., distinguished engineer, Microsoft Corporation
Keith Block
Frank Brunckhorst, Boar's Head Provisions Co., Inc.
Eric Cooper
David Coulter, special limited partner, Warburg Pincus LLC
Russell Crockett, managing partner & CEO, Aztlán Chemical; principal and owner, RTC Energy LLC
Jeanne Cunicelli, executive vice president, UPMC Enterprises
Shrinivas V. Dempo, chairman and managing director, Dempo Group of Companies
Glen de Vries
, co-chief executive officer and co-founder, Medidata Solutions
Francisco D'Souza, chief executive officer, Cognizant Technology Solutions
Howard Ellin, partner, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher and Flom
Edward H. Frank, co-founder and chief executive officer, Brilliant Lime, Inc.
Yoshiaki Fujimori, senior advisor, LIXIL Group Corporation
Eric Giler, chairman, Endeveo, Inc.
Edward Grefenstette, president and chief investment officer, The Dietrich Foundation
Ira J. Gumberg, chairman and chief executive officer, J.J. Gumberg Co.
Jeffrey Housenbold, managing director, SoftBank
Torrence M. Hunt, Jr., The Elmhurst Group and the Roy A. Hunt Foundation
Farnam Jahanian (ex officio), president, Carnegie Mellon University
Larry Jennings, Jr.
, senior managing director, ValStone Partners, LLC
Tod S. Johnson, executive chairman, The NPD Group, Inc
Theresa Kail-Smith (ex officio), president, Pittsburgh City Council
Raymond J. Lane, managing partner, GreatPoint Ventures
John Lehoczky (ex officio), chair, Faculty Senate
Bruce McWilliams
Anne M. Molloy, executive director, Posner Fine Arts Foundation
William Peduto (ex officio), mayor, City of Pittsburgh
David Porges, chairman, Equitrans Midstream Corporation
John Pranzatelli (ex officio), president, Andrew Carnegie Society
James E. Rohr, retired chairman and chief executive officer, The PNC Financial Services Group, Inc.
Jonathan Rothberg, founder and chairman, Butterfly Networks, LAM Therapeutics, Quantum-Si, Hyperfine Research, and 4 Combinator
Ajit Shetty, retired chairman of the board, Janssen Pharmaceutica
J. Lea Hillman Simonds, chair, Hillman Family Foundations
Manoj Singh, retired chief operating officer, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited
Luke Skurman, chief executive officer, Niche
Chris Stengel (ex officio), president, Carnegie Mellon Alumni Association
Lip-Bu Tan, chairman, Walden International
David Tepper, president and founder, Appaloosa Management LP
Thomas Tull, chairman and chief executive officer, Tulco
Tamara Tunie, actor, director and producer
Mary Ann Ulishney
Paula Kauffman Wagner, producer/owner, Chestnut Ridge Productions
Michael Zamagias, founder, chairman and chief executive officer, Zamagias Properties; chairman and chief executive officer, TeleTracking Technologies

Please note that the above list is for informational purposes only. Mailings to members of the Board of Trustees will not be forwarded nor will members' personal contact information be disclosed.