Carnegie Mellon University

We are a storied department with a long history of achievement. Our faculty have been elected to national academies and received various regional and national and international awards. They have been elected to professional scientific societies and won early career awards. A few of our department members have even gone on to win Nobel Prizes!

National and International Awards

Markus Deserno


Biophysical Society, Thomas E. Thompson Award, 2021

Max-Planck Society (Germany), Otto-Hahn Medal, 2001

Tiziana Di Matteo

Di Matteo

Royal Astronomical Society (U.K.), Michael Penston Prize, 1999

Randall Feenstra


Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics, 2019

Alexander von Humboldt Research Award, 2000

AVS Peter Mark Memorial Award, 1989

Sara Majetich


IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturer, 2007

International Research Promotion Council, Eminent Scientist of the Year, 1999

Rachel Mandelbaum

Rachel Mandelbaum

Simons Foundation, Simons Investigator, 2019

Carl Rodriguez 

Carl Rodriguez

The David and Lucile Packard FoundationPackard Fellowships for Science and Engineering2022

Di Xiao

Di Xiao

Simons Foundation, Simons Fellowship, 2019

National and International Awards, Emeritus Faculty

Luc Berger


IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award, 2016

APS Buckley Condensed Matter Prize, 2013

John F. Nagle


Biophysical Society, Avanti Award in Lipids, 2003

Robert F. Sekerka


Minerals, Metals, Materials Society, Bruce Chalmers Award, 1998

International Association of Crystal Growth, Frank Prize, 1992

Robert H. Swendsen


APS Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics, 2014

Stephanie A. Tristram-Nagle


Biophysical Society, Avanti Award in Lipids, 2003

National Academy of Sciences

Robert Griffiths

Robert B. Griffiths

Elected to NAS 1987

Known for the development of the consistent histories approach to quantum mechanics.

Faculty, Carnegie Mellon University Department of Physics, 1964 – 2014
Otto Stern University Professor of Physics at Carnegie Mellon University
Emeritus Professor

*February 25, 1937, Etah, Uttar Pradesh (India)

Nobel Laureates

Walter Kohn

Walter Kohn

1998 Nobel Prize in Chemistry (with John Pople) for his development of the density-functional theory.
Carnegie Tech, Department of Physics Faculty Member, 1950-59

*March 9, 1923, Vienna, Austria
April 19, 2016, Santa Barabara, CA

John L. Hall

John Hall

1995 Nobel Prize in Physics (with Roy J. Glauber and Theodor W. Häntsch) for the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy.
Carnegie Tech: M.S., Department of Physics 1958; Ph.D., Department of Physics 1961

*August 21, 1934, Denver, CO

Clifford G. Shull

Clifford Shull

1994 Nobel Prize in Physics (with Bertram N. Brockhouse) for the development of the neutron diffraction technique.
Carnegie Tech, M.S., Department of Physics 1937

*September 23, 1915, Pittsburgh, PA
March 31, 2001, Medford, MA

Otto Stern

Otto Stern

1943 Nobel Prize in Physics the development of the molecular ray method and his discovery of the magnetic moment of the proton.
Carnegie Tech, Department of Physics Faculty Member, 1933–45

*February 17, 1888, Zory, Poland
August 17, 1969, Berkeley, CA

Clinton J. Davisson

Clinton Davisson

1937 Nobel Prize in Physics (with George P. Thomson) for their discovery of the diffraction of electrons by crystals.
Carnegie Tech, Department of Physics Faculty Member, 1911–17

*October 22, 1881, Bloomington, IL
February 1, 1958, Charlottesville, VA