Carnegie Mellon University

Graduate Fellowships

A number of fellowships and awards are available to graduate students at various stages of their careers. Most of these fellowships require the nomination of a faculty or the department. If interested, please inquire with the Head of the Graduate Program in Physics about more information.

Fast-Track First-Year Research Fellowships

The John Peoples, Jr. Research Fellowship is awarded to an incoming graduate student. This one-year research fellowships provide a stipend and additional $1,000 for education-related expenses. It is intended to free the recipients from teaching duties in their first year and allow them to spend more time pursuing their research interests.

Career-Support Fellowships

The Astrid and Bruce McWilliams Graduate Fellowship is awarded yearly to one or more graduate students in the Mellon College of Science who are conducting leading-edge research in the emerging fields of nanotechnology, biophysics, or cosmology. It provides full tuition and stipend support as well as an additional $1,000 for education-related expenses.

Outstanding Teaching and Research Awards

The Guy C. Berry Graduate Research Award, established in 2005, recognizes excellence in research by MCS graduate students. All graduate students in the Mellon College of Science are eligible for nomination through their department.

The Hugh D. Young Graduate Student Teaching Award is given to encourage and recognize effective teaching by graduate students. This award was established in 1995.

Other Short-Term Fellowships and Awards

Some of the following awards available to our graduate students provide travel funds; others can be used, for example, to allow a student to participate in the early stages of a new research direction before grant funding has been obtained. These include:

• the William T. Oosterhuis Fellowship
• the John G. Fox Fellowship
• the Sergio DeBenedetti Research Fellowship
• the T. Parkinson Award
• the Arnys Clifton Lilly Jr. Fellowship
• the George E. and Majorie S. Pake Fellowship
• the Joseph A. Kane Fellowship
• the Dr. Thane Smith Fellowship
• the J. Michael McQuade Nanophysics and Energy Fellowship