Carnegie Mellon University

Department Contacts

Students should contact departmental representatives directly about approving study abroad courses. The list below provides at least one contact per department.

Students should provide advisors/departmental representatives with course descriptions and/or syllabi for each course being reviewed for approval. Courses counting toward a major/minor should be reviewed by the major/minor advisor. Courses counting toward general education requirements should be reviewed by the college/program advisor. All language courses (regardless of what they count toward at Carnegie Mellon) must be reviewed and approved by the Department of Modern Languages and must be taken at an institution that issues transcripts. 

School School Contact Person Email Address

Architecture

Erica Harp
Heather Workinger

eharp@andrew.cmu.edu
haw5@cmu.edu

Art

Keni Jefferson
Mark Cato

jgreen@andrew.cmu.edu
mdcato@andrew.cmu.edu

Design

Melissa Cicozi

cicozi@cmu.edu

Drama

Amy Nichols

nicholsa@andrew.cmu.edu

Music

Sharon Johnston
Monique Mead

slj@cmu.edu,
mmead@andrew.cmu.edu

Department Departmental Contact Person Email Address

General COE

Kourtney Bandish

kbandish@cmu.edu

Chemical Engineering

Nora Siewiorek

norann@andrew.cmu.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Andrea Francioni Rooney

francioni@cmu.edu

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Arleyna Loss 
Mark Craven

arleyna@cmu.edu
mcraven@andrew.cmu.edu

Engineering & Public Policy

Deanna Matthews

dh5x@andrew.cmu.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Eva Mergner
Michelle Mahouski

emergner@andrew.cmu.edu
mmahousk@andrew.cmu.edu

Materials Science & Engineering

Anthony Rollett
Paige Houser

rollett@andrew.cmu.edu;
phouser@andrew.cmu.edu

Department/Major Departmental/Major Contact Person Email Address

Academic Advisory Center (AAC)

Gina Mattucci
Colleen Libertz
Ana Maria Ulloa-Shields

ginam@andrew.cmu.edu;
clibertz@andrew.cmu.edu
ulloa@cmu.edu

Chinese

Yueming Yu (SISU program)
Gang Liu

yyu@andrew.cmu.edu;
gangliu@andrew.cmu.edu

Economics

Carol Goldburg
Kathleen Conway

cg28@andrew.cmu.edu;
kconway@andrew.cmu.edu

English

Laura Donaldson

ldonalds@andrew.cmu.edu

Ethics, History, & Public Policy

Alex John London

ajlondon@andrew.cmu.edu

Film & Visual Media

Laura Donaldson

ldonalds@andrew.cmu.edu

French

Sebastien Dubreil

sdubreil@andrew.cmu.edu

German

Gabriele Maier

eichgabi@andrew.cmu.edu

Global Studies

Andrew Ramey

aramey@andrew.cmu.edu

Hispanic Studies

Therese Tardio

tardio@andrew.cmu.edu

History

Andrew Ramey

aramey@andrew.cmu.edu

Information Systems

Gary DiLisio
Brandy Wilson
Correy Dandoy

gdilisio@andrew.cmu.edu;
brandyw@andrew.cmu.edu;
correy@cmu.edu

International Relations & Politics

Emily Half

ehalf@andrew.cmu.edu

Italian

Sue Connelly

sc7k@andrew.cmu.edu

Japanese

Yasufumi Iwasaki

yiwasaki@andrew.cmu.edu

Linguistics

Patrick Doyle

pdoyle2@andrew.cmu.edu

Modern Languages - General

Sue Connelly

sc7k@andrew.cmu.edu

Philosophy

Patrick Doyle

pdoyle2@andrew.cmu.edu

Psychology

Emilie Rendulic

emilier@andrew.cmu.edu

Russian

Tatyana Gershkovich

tgershko@andrew.cmu.edu

Social & Decision Sciences

Connie Angermeier - Policy and Management and Decision Science

cla2@andrew.cmu.edu

Lizzy Stoyle - Behavioral Economics, Policy and Organizations, and Decision Science

estoyle@andrew.cmu.edu

Statistics

Samantha Nielsen

samanthn@andrew.cmu.edu

Department

Departmental Contact Person

Email Address

Biological Sciences

Ken Hovis

khovis@cmu.edu

Chemistry

Karen Stump

ks01@andrew.cmu.edu

Mathematical Sciences

Jason Howell

credittransfer@math.cmu.edu

Physics

Heather Corcoran

ugradphy@andrew.cmu.edu

Pre-Health Professions

Jason D'Antonio

dantonio@andrew.cmu.edu

Department

Departmental Contact Person

Email Address

Computer Science

Tom Cortina

tcortina@andrew.cmu.edu

Computer Science

Veronica Peet

vpeet@andrew.cmu.edu 

HCI

Vincent Aleven

aleven@cs.cmu.edu

Contact Person Email Address
Steve Pajewski pajewski@cmu.edu
Erin O'Brien eobrien@andrew.cmu.edu
**Sarah Jovanelli
(Exchange Student contact)
sjovanel@andrew.cmu.edu
Tara Trapani ttrapani@andrew.cmu.edu
Program Contact Person Email Address

BXA (BHA, BSA, BCSA)

M. Stephanie Murray;
Carrie Hagan

msmurray@andrew.cmu.edu
csh@andrew.cmu.edu

SHS (Science & Humanities Scholars)

William Alba

alba@cmu.edu