Skip to main content

Alumnus Noah Mitz, and HDR Michael Keaton Among the Winners at the 74th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards

Media Inquiries
Shannon Musgrave
School of Drama

The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards were presented last night in a live broadcast on NBC. The first trophy of the night, for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie, went to Pittsburgh native and Carnegie Mellon University honorary degree recipient(opens in new window) Michael Keaton for his portrayal of Dr. Samuel Finnix on Hulu's "Dopesick." It is the actor's first Emmy Award. He received an honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degree from CMU in 2017.

Noah Mitz with an Emmy

In a ceremony for the Creative Arts Emmys that took place Sept. 3, Noah Mitz (left), a 2005 graduate of the School of Drama(opens in new window), took home the trophy for Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction for a Variety Special for his work as Lighting Designer for "Adele: One Night Only" on CBS. Mitz was nominated for a total of five lighting design awards in two categories.

CMU alumni racked up a total of 21 nominations for this year's Primetime Emmy Awards. See the full list here(opens in new window).

Several alumni worked behind the scenes on the art direction of the ceremony itself, including School of Drama graduates Kristen Merlino (2005), Alana Billingsley (2004), and Lex Gernon (2016).

We apologize for any omissions. Please send edits or additions to @email(opens in new window).

49th Daytime Emmy Awards

On June 18, 2022, alumnus David Eckert, a 1990 graduate of the School of Drama, won the Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design for his work as production designer on "The Kelly Clarkson Show."

Alumnus Noel Maxam, a 1990 graduate of the School of Drama, was nominated for Outstanding Directing Team for a Daytime Drama Series for his direction of "Beyond Salem" and "Days of Our Lives."

— Related Content —