Early Career Awards-Mellon College of Science - Carnegie Mellon University

Early Career Awards

Annie Jump Cannon Award, American Astronomical Society

Name Year Department
Rachel Mandelbaum 2011 Physics

Association for Chemoreception Sciences’ Young Investigator Award

Name Year Department
Nathan N. Urban 2009 Biological Sciences

Basil O'Connor Starter Scholar Research Award from the March of Dimes

Name Year Department
Brooke McCartney 2005 Biological Sciences

Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar

Name Year Department
Rongchao Jin 2011 Chemistry
Catalina Achim 2003 Chemistry

Career Development Award, Society of Neuroscience

Name Year Department
Alison Barth 2008 Biological Sciences

David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering

Name Year Department
Dannie Durand 2002 Biological Sciences

Department of Energy Early Career Award

Name Year Department
Rachel Mandelbaum 2012 Physics

Erlang Prize for Young Applied Probablists

Name Year Department
Kavita Ramanan 2006 Mathematical Sciences

Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Name Year Department
Alison Barth 2009 Biological Sciences

National Science Foundation CAREER Award

Name Year Department
Maumita Mandal 2012 Chemistry
Stefan Bernhard 2005 Chemistry
Catalina Achim 2004 Chemistry
Russell Schwartz 2004 Biological Sciences

Non-tenured Faculty Award, 3M Corporation

Name Year Department
Newell Washburn 2006 Chemistry
Bruce Armitage 2001 Chemistry

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

Name Year Department
Rusell Schwartz 2005 Biological Sciences

Searle Scholars

Name Year Department
Justin Crowley 2004 Biological Sciences
Michael Hendrich 1995 Chemistry
Aaron Mitchell 1989 Biological Sciences

Sloan Research Fellowship

Name Year Department
Gautam Iyer 2013 Mathematical Sciences
Rachel Mandelbaum 2013 Physics
Catalina Achim 2006 Chemistry
Justin Crowley 2006 Biological Sciences
Alison Barth 2003 Biological Sciences

William J. Whelan Award, Nature Publishing Group

Name Year Department
Maumita Mandal 2008 Chemistry