Carnegie Mellon University

2018 News

Monday, November 12, 2018
Feenstra Wins Davisson-Germer Prize
CMU Physics Prof. Randall Feenstra has been named the winner of the 2019 Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics from the American Physical Society. The award recognizes Feenstra’s “pioneering developments of the techniques and concepts of spectroscopic scanning tunneling microscopy."

Thursday, August 9, 2018
Promising First Results from Low Temperature Scanning Tunneling Microscope
A team of CMU physicists has succeeded in producing an atomic scale image of Tungsten Ditelluride. This intriguing material has the potential to spur technological and scientific innovations.

Thursday, July 5, 2018
The Gaia Sausage: The Major Collision that Changed the Milky Way
Between 8 billion and 10 billion years ago, a dwarf galaxy crashed into our own Milky Way. The dwarf did not survive, but its final act redefined the shape of the Milky Way. Our galaxy has never been the same.

Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Carnegie Mellon Rocket Command Wins NASA Award
The physics departments hosts many student clubs under its roof. Today in the spotlight: The Carnegie Mellon Rocket Command. Congratulations to the Winner of the 2018 NASA Student Launch Altitude Award!

Thursday, April 26, 2018
Gaia Release Creates Richest Star Map of Our Galaxy Yet
On April 24, 2018, the collaboration evaluating the data from the Gaia satellite released a huge set of observations, revealing the positions, brightness values, surface temperatures, and motion data from over 1.6 Billion stars in our Milky Way. CMU Physics Prof. Sergey Koposov, a Gaia team member, is excited about the harvest.

Thursday, April 12, 2018
Teaching Awards for Professors Garoff and Collins
Each academic year at Carnegie Mellon ends with honoring the university's most dedicated and cherished teachers with awards. This year, the Department of Physics boasts two of its own, Prof. Stephen Garoff and Special Lecturer Hael Collins, who have been bestowed with prestigious awards from the Mellon College of Science for their outstanding contributions for CMU's mission in student education.