Carnegie Mellon University

BXA Intercollege Degree Programs

Interdisciplinary Academics + Arts

BESA Curriculum

The Bachelor of Engineering Studies and Arts (BESA) is an intercollege degree that equally integrates the depth and breath of coursework in the College of Engineering (ENG) and the College of Fine Arts (CFA). BESA students combine their CFA concentration with a concentration in Engineering Studies, which contains several subject area options. This program of study prepares students for careers tailored to their strengths and areas of expertise that positively influences our world.

BESA General Education 92
ENG Concentration 93-120
CFA Concentration 108-114
Free Electives 54-87
Total BESA Degree Requirements 380 units

Undergraduate Catalog

BESA General Education

The BESA General Education curriculum provides a foundation in writing, mathematics, science and technology. In addition, students are required to fulfill BXA-specific courses.

BESA General Education [pdf]

ENG Concentration

Students choose their option within the engineering studies concentration from among the departments in Engineering.

The BESA ENG Concentration Declaration Form [pdf] must be submitted by spring mid-semester break of the first year. 

Biomedical Engineering [pdf]
Chemical Engineering [pdf]
Civil Engineering [pdf]
Electrical & Computer Engineering [pdf]
Environmental Engineering [pdf]
Materials Science & Engineering [pdf]
Mechanical Engineering [pdf]

CFA Concentration

Students choose their fine arts concentration from among the following schools in CFA: Architecture, Art, Design, Drama or Music. A student must meet entry requirements for the specific CFA school of their choice. While in the BESA Program, a student may change their CFA concentration only if they pass all admission requirements for that particular CFA school.

Architecture [pdf]
Art [pdf]
Design [pdf]
Drama [pdf]
Music [pdf]

Free Electives

Take any Carnegie Mellon course. Many students use their electives to broaden or deepen their concentrations. A maximum of 9 units of physical education and/or military science may be counted toward this requirement.