Carnegie Mellon University

BXA Intercollege Degree Programs

Interdisciplinary Academics + Arts

BCSA Curriculum

The Bachelor of Computer Science and Arts (BCSA) is a rigorous intercollege program that offers a unique group of qualified students the opportunity to develop their talents and interests in an area of the fine arts and computer science. The BCSA program is ideal for students who have goals that can only be achieved by combining academic work in the School of Computer Science (SCS) with creative work in the College of Fine Arts (CFA). BCSA is designed for the student who wants to create the tools that make the art they want to make.

BCSA General Education 121
SCS Concentration 111
CFA Concentration 108
Free Electives 40
Total BCSA Degree Requirements 380 units

Undergraduate Catalog

BCSA General Education

The BCSA General Education is a distinctive core curriculum that provides a foundation in humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics. In addition, students are required to fulfill BXA-specific courses.

BCSA General Education [pdf]

SCS Concentration

Students complete the computer science concentration according to the requirement established by the School of Computer Science.

SCS Concentration [pdf]

CFA Concentration

Students choose their fine arts concentration from among the following schools in CFA: Architecture, Art, Design, Drama or Music. A student must meet entry requirements for the specific CFA school of their choice. While in the BCSA Program, a student may change their CFA concentration only if they pass all admission requirements for that particular CFA school.

Architecture [pdf]
Art [pdf]
Design [pdf]
Drama [pdf]
Music [pdf]

Free Electives

Take any Carnegie Mellon course. Many students use their electives to broaden or deepen their concentrations. A maximum of 9 units of physical education and/or military science may be counted toward this requirement. Physical education and military science courses will not be calculated in a student's QPA.