Carnegie Mellon University

Academic Calendar

The below MSCF Calendar is a modified version of the Official Carnegie Mellon Academic Calendar and Tepper Calendar. The MSCF Academic Calendar contains information specific to our student experience.

2020-2021 MSCF Academic Calendar

Download the MSCF Academic Calendar as a PDF
Fall 2020 - Mini 1    
August 31 Monday First Day of Mini 1 and Fall Semester Classes
September 7 Monday Labor Day - No Classes
September 8 Tuesday Add Deadline for Mini 1 Classes
September 14 Monday Add Deadline for Fall Semester Classes
September 22 Tuesday Drop Deadline for Mini 1 Classes
October 5 Monday Withdrawal Deadline for Mini 1 Classes
October 12 Monday Drop Deadline for Fall Semester Classes
October 16 Friday No classes: Day for Community Engagement
October 19 Monday Last Day of Mini 1 Classes
October 20 - 25 Tues - Sun Mini 1 Reading Days and Final Exams
October 26 - 27 Mon - Tues Fall Break - No Classes
October 28 Wednesday Mini 1 Grades Due
Fall 2020 - Mini 2    
October 28 Wednesday First Day of Mini 2 Classes
November 4 Wednesday Add Deadline for Mini 2 Classes
November  9 Monday Withdrawal Deadline for Fall Semester Classes
November 11 Wednesday Drop Deadline for Mini 2 Classes
November 25 - 27  Wed - Fri Thanksgiving Break - No Classes
November 25 Wednesday Withdrawal Deadline for Mini 2 Classes
December 17 Thursday Last Day of Mini 2  Classes
December 18 - 22 Fri - Tues Mini 2 and Fall Semester Reading Days and Final Exams
December 23 Wednesday Mini 2 and Fall Semester Grades Due
Spring 2021 - Mini 3  
January 8 Friday Certification of December 2020 Graduates
January 25 Monday First Day of Mini 3 and Spring Semester Classes
February 1 Monday Add Deadline for Mini 3 Classes
February 8 Monday Add Deadline for Spring Semester Classes
February 8 Monday Drop Deadline for Mini 3 Classes
March 1 Monday Withdrawal Deadline for Mini 3 Classes
March  8 Monday Drop Deadline for Spring Semester Classes
March 11 Thursday Last Day of Mini 3 Classes
March 12 - 17 Fri-Wed Mini 3 Reading Days and Final Exams
March 18 - 21 Thu-Sun Break 2021 - No Classes
Spring 2021 - Mini 4  
March 22 Monday First Day of Mini 4 Classes
March 24 Wednesday Mini 3 Grades due
March 29 Monday Add Deadline for Mini 4 Classes
April 12 Monday Withdrawal Deadline for Spring Semester Classes
April 5 Monday Drop Deadline for Mini 4 Classes
April 26 Monday Withdrawal Deadline for Mini 4 Classes
May 6 Thursday Last Day of Mini 4 and Spring Semester Classes
May 7 - 11 Fri - Tue Mini 4 and Spring Semester Reading Days and Final Exams
May 20 Thursday Mini 4 and Spring Semester Grades due for Graduating Students
May 22 Saturday Tepper School Commencement Ceremony
May 23 Sunday CMU Main Graduation Ceremony
May 25 Tuesday Mini 4 and Spring Semester Grades due for Non-Graduating students
Summer 2021    
May  17 Monday First Day of Summer All Classes
May 31 Monday Memorial Day - No Classes
June 1 Tuesday Add Deadline for Summer All Classes
June 28 Monday Drop Deadline for Summer All Classes
July 26 Monday Withdrawal Deadline for Summer All Classes
August 2 Monday First Day of MSCF Prep
August 20 Friday Last Day of Summer All Classes
August 27 Friday Grades Due for Summer All Classes
August 27 Friday Last Day of MSCF Prep