Carnegie Mellon University
October 17, 2023

EPP professors receive College of Engineering faculty awards

Assistant Professor Destenie Nock won the George Tallman Ladd Research Award, and Professor Tim Brown won the Outstanding Service Award as part of the 2023 College of Engineering Faculty Awards. The awards recognize faculty who have displayed excellence in education and research.

The George Tallman Ladd Research Award is awarded to a faculty member within the College of Engineering in recognition of outstanding research and professional accomplishments and potential. This year the award was given to Destenie Nock (EPP/CEE) and Assistant Professor Eni Halilaj (MechE). "Destenie's faculty career and research is off to a roaring start, and she is breaking new ground - and garnering lots of attention - with her work on energy equity," said Engineering and Public Policy Department Head Peter Adams.

The Outstanding Service Award is awarded to a faculty member in the College of Engineering in recognition of excellence in service to the College of Engineering and/or its units. Peter Adams said this of Tim Brown's (EPP/CMU-Africa) win, "Tim has been a stalwart of the CMU-Africa program and absolutely foundational to its incredible success. He has been working in Rwanda for a decade now and has probably overseen - at one time or another - every program within CMU-Africa, both on the academic and research side."

Congratulations to both Destenie and Tim!