Carnegie Mellon University
External Advisory Council

Scott Institute External Advisory Council

The Wilton E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation works with an external advisory board that offers general strategic advice and guidance to the institute. Members include:

Aris Candris

  • Senior Advisor, Westinghouse Electric Company LLC
  • Trustee, Carnegie Mellon University

Steven Hamburg

  • Chief Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund

Michael W. Howard

  • President and Chief Executive Officer, Electric Power Research Institute

Scott D. Izzo

  • Director, Richard King Mellon Foundation

Alex Knaster

  • Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Pamplona Capital Management LLP

Raymond J. Lane

  • Partner Emeritus, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
  • Trustee, Carnegie Mellon University

J. Michael McQuade

  • Senior Vice President for Science and Technology, United Technologies Corporation
  • Trustee, Carnegie Mellon University

Oliver Morton

  • Briefings Editor, The Economist

David Porges

  • Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, EQT Corporation
  • Trustee, Carnegie Mellon University

Sherman Scott

  • President, Delmar Systems, Inc.

Jim Skea

  • Strategy Fellow, Research Councils UK Energy Programme

Daniel Swanson

  • Software Systems Engineer, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Susan Tierney

  • Managing Principal, Analysis Group

Carol Williams

  • Retired, Executive Vice President of The Dow Chemical Company
  • Board member, Olin Corporation
  • Board member, Owens Illinois
  • Trustee – Carnegie Mellon University