Carnegie Mellon University

Facilities Management Services (FMS) includes leadership, custodial, emergency restoration, operations, customer service, engineering, business and information technology teams.

Facilities Management Main Location
FMS Building (physical plant), 2nd Floor, in the hollow between the Mehrabian Collaborative Innovation Center and Scott Hall (view on map)

Service Response Center
(24/7 Facilities Service and Support)
412-268-2910
fixit@andrew.cmu.edu

Custodial Services
412-268-2036
cleanit@andrew.cmu.edu

Business Operations Location
205 South Craig Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Need local help? View a list of campus Facility Coordinators by area.

Leadership

Portrait of Don Coffelt

Don Coffelt 
Associate Vice President for Facilities Management and Campus Services
412-268-3415
Fax: 412-268-8976
dcoffelt@andrew.cmu.edu

 

Portrait of Steven Guenther

Steven Guenther
Assistant Vice President for Facilities Management and Campus Services & University Engineer
412-268-4948
sgue@andrew.cmu.edu

*2020 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Martin Altschul

Martin Altschul
Director of Strategic Facilities Initiatives
412-268-2529
Fax: 412-268-8976
ma3q@andrew.cmu.edu 

Portrait of Charity Anderson

Charity Anderson
Director of Facilities Operations
412-268-6713
Fax: 412-268-8976
caanders@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Roy Farkas

Roy Farkas
Director of Business Operations
412-268-6154
Fax: 412-268-1611
rf2k@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Jeremy Smith

Jeremy Smith
Director of FMCS IT,
Director of Enterprise Space Information Management
412-268-8664
jcsmith@cmu.edu

Portrait of Shannon Wetzel

Shannon Wetzel
Director for Client Services 
412-268-6332
swetzel@andrew.cmu.edu 

Portrait of Ron Cunningham

Ron Cunningham
Director of FMS Projects and Emergency Restoration
412-508-9575
rcunning@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Custodial Services

Portriat of Terry McMurtry

Terry McMurtry
Assistant Director for Custodial, Waste and Recycling
412-268-9106
tmcmurtr@andrew.cmu.edu

Terri Flinder
Customer Service Manager
tflinder@ug2.com   

Doug Hastings
Site Operations Manager
dhastings@ug2.com

Contact Custodial Services at
 cleanit@andrew.cmu.edu

Emergency Restoration and Project Management

Portrait of Ron Cunningham

Ron Cunningham
Director of FMS Projects and Emergency Restoration
412-508-9575
rcunning@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Jenn rogers

Jenn Rogers
Project Manager
412-268-1964
jlrogers@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Thom Thornton

Thom Thornton
Project Manager
412-268-8363
tt2g@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Logistics, FMS Storeroom, and Central Receiving and Warehouse

Portrait of Ray Perrett

Ray Perret
Director, Logistics and Postal Services
412-268-2928
rperret@andrew.cmu.edu

Sherry Pipchok
Supervisor, Central Receiving and Warehouse
412-268-1031
spipchok@andrew.cmu.edu 

Portrait of Kevin Smith

Kevin Smith
Supervisor, FMS Storeroom
412-268-2035
kevins3@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Shawn Besselman
Purchasing Agent
412-268-8608
sbesselm@andrew.cmu.edu

Josh Sutton
Purchasing Agent
jsutton@andrew.cmu.edu

Operations - Leadership

Portrait of Charity Anderson

Charity Anderson
Director of Facilities Operations
412-268-6713
caanders@andrew.cmu.edu

Operations - Campus Support

Portrait of Terry McMurtry

Terry McMurtry
Custodial
412-268-9106
tmcmurtr@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Michael Puharic

Michael Puharhic
Central Utility (MEP) Supervisor
412-268-5647
mpuharic@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Alaine Smith

Alaine Smith
Operations Administrator
412-268-1355
alaines@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Jason Sturges

Jason Sturges
Structural Shop/Events
412-268-8158
jsturges@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

George Innocenzo
Life Safety & Access Control
412-268-7381
gai@andrew.cmu.edu

Operations - Zone Managers

Portrait of Thomas Emanuele

Thomas Emanuele
Housing Zone
412-268-7116
temanuel@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait Bob Giffen

Bob Giffen
Forbes Zone
rgiffen@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Ralph Hilbert

Ralph Hilbert
East Zone
412-268-6147
rh0t@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Rich Jenks

Rich Jenks
Mellon Zone
412-268-9052
rjenks@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Bob Ossman

Bob Ossman
West Zone
robertos@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Mark Wesolosky

Mark Wesolosky
Grounds Zone and Fleet
mwesolos@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

TBD
Campus-wide 2nd & 3rd Shift

View our facilities maintenance zones

Service Response Center

Portrait of Shannon Wetzel

Shannon Wetzel
Director for Client Services 
412-268-6332
swetzel@andrew.cmu.edu 

Portrait of Sandy Probola

Sandy Probola
Administrative Coordinator
412-268-2910
sprobola@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Toni Sopel

Toni Sopel
Sr. Administrative Coordinator
412-268-2116
tsopel@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Randi Uhler

Randi Uhler
Coordinator of Client Services
412-268-6329
msenchur@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Frank Varrati

Frank Varrati
Senior Administrative Coordinator
412-268-8692
fvarrati@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Kacey Byrne-Houser
Sr. Administrative and Communications Coordinator
kbyrneho@andrew.cmu.edu 

Contact the Service Response Center at fixit@andrew.cmu.edu

University Engineer

Portrait of Steven Guenther

Steven Guenther
University Engineer
412-268-4948
sgue@andrew.cmu.edu 

*2020 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Martin Altschul

Martin Altschul
Director of Strategic Facilities Initiatives
412-268-2529
Fax: 412-268-8976
ma3q@andrew.cmu.edu 

Portrait of Mike Frenak

Mike Frenak
Commissioning Engineer
mfrenak@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Nolan Grimes

Nolan Grimes
Facilities Management Archives and GIS Manager
724-888-1857
ngrimes@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Joe Kelly

Joe Kelly
Asset Preservation Program Coordinator
412-268-6579
jakelly@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Bob Penn

Bob Penn
Metering and Automation Systems Engineer
412-268-1501
rpenn@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Portrait of Deborah Steinberg

Deborah Steinberg
Green Practices and Sustainability Manager
dsteinbe@andrew.cmu.edu

Wayne Chrestay
Automation Systems Engineer
412-444-8293
wchrestay@cmu.edu

George Papuga
Project Manager
412-268-9052
gp2j@andrew.cmu.edu

Business Operations

Portrait of Roy Farkas

Roy Farkas
Director of Business Operations
412-268-6154
Fax: 412-268-1611
rf2k@andrew.cmu.edu

Shannon Giannoutsos
Financial Manager
412-268-7189
Fax: 412-268-1611
shannong@andrew.cmu.edu

Portrait of Yadira Valdez

Yadira Valdez
Senior Accountant for FMCS Business Operations
412-268-2137
yvaldez@andrew.cmu.edu

Maria Guadalupe Alberto Ramirez
Accounting Assistant
malberto@andrew.cmu.edu

Ariyana Bonam
Accounting Assistant
412-268-5854
abonam@andrew.cmu.edu

Adam Nero
Senior Financial Analyst
412-268-1177
afnero@andrew.cmu.edu

Elizabeth Paez
Accountant for FMCS Business Operations
412-268-5774
edreier@andrew.cmu.edu

Eleni Romanello
Associate Buyer
412-268-2917
eandrulo@andrew.cmu.edu

Helen Smith
Accounting Assistant
412-268-5854
hvs@andrew.cmu.edu

Diane Soukup
FMCS Senior Utilities Analyst
412-268-5686
dsoukup@andrew.cmu.edu

Christopher Zupan
Purchasing Agent
412-268-1521
czupan@andrew.cmu.edu

IT Support for Facilities Management and Campus Services

Portrait of Jeremy Smith

Jeremy Smith
Director of FMCS IT
412-268-8664
jcsmith@cmu.edu

Portrait of Jenna Hovis

Jenna Hovis
Associate Project Manager
412-268-8241
jhovis@andrew.cmu.edu

*2023 Andy Award recipient*

Denise McConnell
Senior Systems Analyst
412-268-6093
denisem@cmu.edu

Ivo Mrsic
Applications Analyst
412-268-2523
ivom@andrew.cmu.edu 

Rachel Walter
Associate Applications Specialist
412-268-6150
rcwalter@andrew.cmu.edu

Cameron West
Associate Applications Analyst
412-268-5073
cgwest@andrew.cmu.edu