Research Centers-Mellon College of Science - Carnegie Mellon University

Research Centers and Institutes

Center for Membrane Biology and Biophysics

Center for Atmospheric Particle Studies (CAPS)
Director: Peter Adams, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering & Engineering and Public Policy
Joint center with the College of Engineering

Center for Computational Finance
Director: Dmitry Kramkov, Mellon College of Science Professor of Mathematical Finance
Joint center with the Tepper School of Business

Center for Macromolecular Engineering
Director: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, J. C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences
Associate Director: James Spanswick

Center for Molecular Analysis (CMA)
Director: Mark E. Bier, Research Professor of Chemistry
Director, NMR Facility: Roberto R. Gil, Research Professor of Chemistry

Center for Nano-enabled Device and Energy Technologies (CNXT)
Director: Elias Towe, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering
Joint center with the College of Engineering

Center for Nonlinear Analysis
Director: Irene Fonseca, Mellon College of Science Professor of Mathematics
Associate Director: Giovanni Leoni, Professor of Mathematical Sciences

Center For Nucleic Acids Science And Technology (CNAST)
Co-Director: Bruce Armitage, Professor of Chemistry
Co-Director: John Woolford, Professor of Biological Sciences

Institute for Green Science
Director: Terry Collins, Teresa Heinz Professor in Green Chemistry

McWilliams Center for Cosmology
Director: Fred Gilman, Buhl Professor of Theoretical Physics and Dean of the Mellon College of Science

Molecular Biosensor & Imaging Center
Director: Marcel Bruchez, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biological Sciences

Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center
Executive Director: David Moses

Our faculty is also involved with the following centers

Bone Tissue Engineering Center (BTEC)


Center for Bioimage Informatics (CBI)
Director: Jelena Kovacevic, Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Founding Director: Robert F. Murphy, Ray and Stephanie Lane Professor of Computational Biology

Center for Complex Fluids Engineering (CCFE)
Director: Robert Tilton, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering
Director, Colloids, Polymers and Surfaces (CPS) Educational Program: Annette Jacobson, Teaching Professor of Chemical Engineering and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Engineering

Center for the Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology (CEINT)
Deputy Director: Greg Lowry, Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Center for the Mechanics and Engineering of Cellular Systems
Director: Philip LeDuc, Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Center for Polymer-Based Protein Engineering (CPBPE)
Co-Director: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, J. C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences and Director, Center for Macromolecular Engineering
Co-Director: Alan Russell, Highmark Distinguished Career Professor; Director, Disruptive Health Technology Institute; Institute for Complex Engineering Systems; Department of Biomedical Engineering

Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition
Co-Director: Peter Strick, Professor of Neurobiology and Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh
Co-Director: Marlene Behrmann, Professor of Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University
Joint center with the University of Pittsburgh

Data Storage Systems Center
Director: Jimmy Zhu, ABB Professor of Engineering and Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Disruptive Health Technology Institute
Alan J. Russell, Highmark Distinguished Career Professor, Institute for Complex Engineered Systems and Biomedical Engineering, and Chief Innovation Officer, Allegheny Health Network

Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation
Director & Principal Research Scientist: Robert W. Kiger, Distinguished Service Professor of Botany, Adjunct Professor of History of Science
Assistant Director & Principal Research Scientist: T. D. Jacobsen, Adjunct Professor of Biological Sciences

Lane Center for Computational Cancer Research
Director: Robert F. Murphy, Ray and Stephanie Lane Professor of Computational Biology

Scott Institute for Energy Innovation
Director: Jared L. Cohon, President Emeritus and University Professor
Co-Director: Andrew J. Gellman, Lord Professor of Chemical Engineering

Simon Initiative
Co-Coordinator: Justine Cassell, Associate Vice-Provost for Technology Strategy and Impact
Co-Coordinator: Ken Koedinger, Professor, Human-Computer Interaction Institute & Psychology; Director, LearnLab, the Pittsburgh Science of Learning Center
Co-Coordinator: Marsha C. Lovett, Director, Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence & Educational Innovation; Teaching Professor, Department of Psychology

Steinbrenner Institute for Environmental Education and Research
Faculty Director: Neil Donahue, Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering