Mellon College of Science - Carnegie Mellon University

Recent News

Carnegie Mellon Joins IARPA Project To Reverse-Engineer Brain Algorithms

Goal Is To Make Computers Learn Like Humans

Carnegie Mellon University is embarking on a five-year, $12 million research effort to reverse-engineer the brain, seeking to unlock the secrets of neural circuitry and the brain’s learning methods. Researchers, including Biological Sciences Assistant Professor Sandra Kuhlman, will use these insights to make computers think more like humans.

Atmospheric Chemist Ryan Sullivan Receives NSF CAREER Award

Carnegie Mellon University atmospheric chemist Ryan Sullivan has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award from the National Science Foundation. The five-year grant supports his research aimed at understanding how the chemical evolution of particles in the atmosphere impacts the formation of ice in clouds.

Biological Sciences Student Jillian Jaycox Wins Churchill Scholarship

Senior To Join Autoimmune Disease Research Group at University of Cambridge

Jaycox is one of 15 individuals nationwide to receive a 2016 Churchill Scholarship, one of the most prestigious awards for study abroad in the United Kingdom. Jaycox is the 12th CMU student to receive the scholarship, which funds a year of postgraduate study at the University of Cambridge.

In Galaxy Clustering, Mass May Not Be the Only Thing That Matters

First Observational Evidence for Assembly Bias Could Impact Understanding of the Universe

An international team of researchers, including Carnegie Mellon University’s Rachel Mandelbaum, has shown that the relationship between galaxy clusters and their surrounding dark matter halo is more complex than previously thought. The researchers’ findings, published in Physical Review Letters, are the first to use observational data to show that, in addition to mass, a galaxy cluster’s formation history plays a role in how it interacts with its environment.

Carnegie Mellon Team Develops Targeted Photosensitizer for Cell Manipulation

Technology Could Be Used To Better Understand and Treat Disease

Researchers led by Carnegie Mellon University’s Molecular and Biosensor Imaging Center (MBIC) Director Marcel Bruchez have re-engineered a fluorescent probe into a powerful optogenetic photosensitizer that can be used to manipulate cells. The technology could help researchers better understand the role certain cells and proteins play in everyday function and disease, and could possibly be used as a targeted therapy for cancer and other diseases. Their findings were published online today by Nature Methods.

Maggie Braun Named MCS Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs

Braun succeeds Eric Grotzinger who is retiring after a distinguished career with Carnegie Mellon.

who we are

The Mellon College of Science is home to four departments and many programs and research centers that cross disciplines.

We are researchers and educators, problem-solvers and innovators. Find out more about MCS.

facebook Visit the MCS Facebook page.

Twitter Follow @CMUScience on Twitter.


cover of magazine

Read the latest issue of our alumni magazine, Science Connection.