Carnegie Mellon University
April 28, 2014

Press Release: Carnegie Mellon To Become First, Exclusive Higher Education Partner of the Tony Awards®

CMU School of Drama Marks 100 Years, Debuts National Tony Honor for Theatre Educators

Contacts: Ken Walters / 412-268-1151 /
                Pam Wigley / 412-268-1047 /
                Shawn Purdy - SLATE PR / For the Tony Awards / 212-235-6813 /

Tony Awards PartnershipNEW YORK CITY & PITTSBURGH—Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) has been named by the Tony Awards® as its first, exclusive higher education partner. As part of the collaboration, the two organizations will jointly create and launch the first, national recognition program to honor kindergarten through high-school (K-12) theatre educators.

CMU's School of Drama is the oldest drama degree-granting program in the United States and celebrates its centennial in 2014. In the past century, CMU has produced hundreds of Tony nominees and 31 Tony winners — eight winners in 2013 alone. Recognized as an international leader in the arts and technology, CMU's drama school consistently ranks as one of the world's best.

Last year, CMU alumni Billy Porter (A'91) and Patina Miller (A'06) both won for performances in musicals for "Kinky Boots" and "Pippin," respectively. Judith Light (A'70) picked up a second consecutive featured actress Tony for "The Assembled Parties," after winning the prior year for "Other Desert Cities." Producers Martin Platt (A'71) and Jamie deRoy (A'67) won for "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike," while Ann Roth (A'60) earned a Tony for "The Nance" as costume designer. And "Lucky Guy" lighting designers Jules Fisher (A'60) and Peggy Eisenhauer (A'83) each picked up 2013 Tonys for their work.

The 2014 Tony Awards, hosted by Hugh Jackman, will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Sunday, June 8, on CBS. The 68th annual Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The broadcast will feature an on-air tribute to CMU's century of producing top theatre talent, from actors and musicians, producers to technicians, backstage to front office and everywhere in between.

"We are pleased to recognize Carnegie Mellon University's historic and unrivaled contributions to theatre education," said Heather Hitchens, executive director of the American Theatre Wing, and Charlotte St. Martin, executive director of The Broadway League. "What better occasion to celebrate 100 years of talent-making than on Broadway's biggest night!"

A top-ranked global university, Carnegie Mellon attracts award-winning talent in the arts, sciences and technology. In addition to its Tony winners, CMU has been home to 19 Nobel Laureates, 12 Turing Award recipients (the Turing Award is considered computing's equivalent to the Nobel Prize), 99 Emmy winners and six Oscar winners.

The 2014 Tony Award Nominations will be announced on Tuesday, April 29, at the Paramount Hotel's Diamond Horseshoe in New York City. The Tony Nominations event can be viewed live at 8:30 a.m. Eastern Time at

Tony Awards, CMU Will Recognize Theatre Educators in 2015

To underscore the critical importance of education in the dramatic arts, the Tony Awards and CMU will co-create and launch the first national recognition program to honor kindergarten through high-school (K-12) theatre educators.

"Throughout its history, Carnegie Mellon has been home to many talented and inspirational faculty, so we understand the important role teachers play in transforming lives," said CMU President Subra Suresh. "Behind every Tony winner is a teacher who inspired and nurtured a young talent to grow, to pursue big dreams and accomplish great things. We are excited to bring those heroes into the Tony spotlight."

Nominations will be open to the public and accepted starting in September 2014 at and A panel of judges comprised of the American Theatre Wing, The Broadway League, CMU and other leaders from the theatre industry will select the finalists and winner based on criteria set forth by the committee. Demonstrating a positive impact on the lives of students, advancing the theatre profession and a commitment to excellence will be among the qualifications.

The winning teacher will receive the "Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre Education presented by Carnegie Mellon University" on stage at the 2015 Tony Awards. The trip to New York City will be included, plus a financial contribution will be made to the theatre arts program at the winner's school.

For more information about the Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre Education, visit or

About Carnegie Mellon University: Carnegie Mellon ( is a private, internationally ranked research university with programs in areas ranging from science, technology and business, to public policy, the humanities and the arts. More than 12,000 students in the university's seven schools and colleges benefit from a small student-to-faculty ratio and an education characterized by its focus on creating and implementing solutions for real problems, interdisciplinary collaboration and innovation. A global university, Carnegie Mellon has campuses in Pittsburgh, Pa., California's Silicon Valley and Qatar, and programs in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe and Mexico.

About Carnegie Mellon University School of Drama: Carnegie Mellon University's School of Drama is the oldest degree-granting drama school in the United States, celebrating its centennial in 2014. The school offers conservatory training that champions rigorous education, scholarship, research and innovative cross-disciplinary interaction; it is recognized as an international leader in the arts and technology. During the past 100 years, the School of Drama has trained innovators and leaders in the theatre, film and television industries. Carnegie Mellon alumni have received 99 Emmy Awards, 31 Tony Awards and six Academy Awards, also known as the Oscars.

About the Tony Awards: The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2014 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2014 Tony Awards.

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards website, across digital platforms.  Audemars Piguet is the presenting sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet. United Airlines is the official airline of the Tony Awards. The New York Times is the official and exclusive print media partner of the Tony Awards. Nexxus Salon Hair Care is the official beauty partner of the Tony Awards. Paramount Hotel is the official hotel partner of the Tonys. PEOPLE is the official magazine partner of the Tony Awards. City National Bank is the official bank of the Tony Awards. Carnegie Mellon University is the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner of the Tony Awards.