Carnegie Mellon University

MCS Gilman Award

Undergraduate Award

This award is presented each year to recognize Mellon College of Science graduating students who have demonstrated exceptional commitment and growth through the MCS Core Education. The award was established in 2019 and named in honor of Fred Gilman who initiated, was deeply engaged in and actively oversaw the development and implementation of the new MCS Core Education for undergraduate students during his time as dean of the Mellon College of Science. The Core was first implemented in 2015 as an innovative approach to science education that fosters student growth in four dimensions — scholar, professional, citizen and person.

Name Year Department
Claire Phoneprasert 2024 Biological Sciences
Amy Germer 2023 Physics
Veronique Wright 2023 Biological Sciences
Joshua Morrow 2022 Biological Sciences
Ayah Salameh 2022 Biological Sciences (Qatar campus)
Teddy Warner 2021 Chemistry
Dallas Foster 2020 Mathematical Sciences
Camille Williams 2020 Chemistry
Erin Kavanagh 2019 Chemistry
Mason Miles 2019 Biological Sciences