Curriculum-Master of Information Technology Strategy - Carnegie Mellon University


The MITS program is a three semester, full-time on-campus program.  The curriculum consists of five distinct components:  core coursework, an area of concentration, free electives, Practicum, and Seminar.

The core coursework establishes the necessary background and common competency level.  The area of concentration builds upon the core courses, allowing the student to develop expertise in a given academic area.  Elective slots enable the students to explore their area of concentration in greater depth, or to pursue topics outside the concentration.  The Seminar provides an avenue by which enrolled students can explore topics of particular interest.  The Practicum is the mechanism whereby students, as members of a team, delve deeply into a problem in an effort to create a solution that is relevant to information technology strategy.

The MITS program requirements include 120 units*, divided as follows:

  • Core Course Requirements - 48 units
  • Area of Concentration - 24 units
  • Free Elective - 12 units
  • Practicum - 30 units
  • Seminar - 6 units

Typical plan of study:

Semester Core Concentration Free Elective Seminar Practicum
Fall 24 units 12 units 3 units
Spring 24 units 12 units 3 units 6 units
Summer 12 units 24 units

An optional 1-semester extension allows students to deepen his or her knowledge in a particular concentration area.  The extension includes 36-48 units (3-4 courses), consists of coursework in the area of concentration, and 24 units (2 courses) of directed in-depth project work.

* Carnegie Mellon assigns "units" of weight for each course. For the average student, one unit represents one work-hour of time per week. Three units are the equivalent of one traditional semester credit.