Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
May 01, 2014

Personal Mention

Philosophy Professor Steve Awodey has received a five-year, $7.5 million grant from the Department of Defense (DOD) to reshape the foundations of mathematics by developing a new approach that allows for large-scale formalization and computer verification. The award, part of the highly competitive Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) program, is one of 24 issued this year totaling $167 million over five years. The grant will allow Awodey and his research team to continue building on his groundbreaking discovery in 2005 of "Homotopy Type Theory," a deep and surprising connection between abstract, mathematical geometry and computational logic. Learn more.

Brandon Bowman, former head coach at Transylvania University, has been named the new head coach of the Carnegie Mellon men's soccer team. Bowman succeeds Arron Lujan who stepped down in January after six years to take a job with the United States Soccer Federation. Since 2002, Bowman led Transylvania to a 168-39-32 overall record and a 77-7-9 mark in Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) play. The four-time HCAC Coach of the Year also guided seven teams to the NCAA tournament, reaching the Elite Eight in 2009 and the Sweet 16 in 2007. Learn more.

Annette Jacobson
, associate dean for Undergraduate Studies, the Carnegie Institute of Technology Teaching Professor of Chemical Engineering and director of the Colloids, Polymers and Surfaces Program, and Ben Yezer, a Ph.D. candidate in the Chemical Engineering Department, provided a session of hands-on experiments for 35 4th grade students in ICES' Moving 4th Into Engineering Program on Saturday, April 5.  The activities exposed students to the chemistry of polymers involved in many personal care, food, toy and art products. They demonstrated how chemistry translates to consumer products through the efforts of chemical engineers and their expertise with chemical processing and manufacturing.
          Jacobson also presented a paper at the 2014 Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology Symposium in Pittsburgh on April 3.  The title of the presentation was "Incorporation of Innovation, Communication and a Global Perspective in General Education for Carnegie Mellon Undergraduate Engineers." Co-authors were Pradeep Khosla, Granger Morgan and James Garrett. The new general education program in the College of Engineering was presented, including the motivation and rationale for the program.

The School of Computer Science has announced its student teaching award winners for 2013-14. The awards honor students across SCS who have displayed the highest degree of excellence in, and dedication to, teaching. This year’s winners are:
  • Alexander Lockwood, a senior in computer science, won the Alan J. Perlis Undergraduate Student Teaching Award;
  • David Bamman, a Ph.D. candidate in the Language Technologies Institute, received the Alan J. Perlis Graduate Student Teaching Award; and
  • Yihuan Zhou, a senior in mathematical sciences and computer science, won the Mark J. Stehlik Introductory and Service Teaching Award.

Megan Garvey
(TPR’14), Niharika Singh (E’14), Laura Stiles (DC’14) and Corinne Clinch (E’14) are the recipients of $1,000 scholarships awarded by the Carnegie Mellon Women’s Association. The women received their awards at a reception on Tuesday, April 29. The tradition of the club giving scholarships began in 1964, and each year the Scholarship Chair works with deans and department heads to nominate outstanding senior undergraduate women. In honor of the 50th year for CMWA's Scholarship Program, Clinch received a scholarship in honor of Mary Suresh, CMWA honorary chairman and wife of CMU President Subra Suresh. With her dedication to the health care industry and her research in the health fields, the scholarship is being given to a senior undergraduate woman planning a career in the health professions. Clinch is a double major studying biomedical engineering and civil and environmental engineering. She also is involved with CMU’s Emergency Medical Service and Engineers Without Borders. For more information on past winners visit