Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
October 13, 2011

Nominations for 2012 Education Awards Are Now Being Accepted

Celebration of Education LogoNominations for the 2012 Education Awards — the Doherty, Ryan, Lazarus and Gelfand awards — are due Nov. 7.

  • The Doherty Award is given biennially to a member of the university community who has made substantial and sustained contributions to excellence in education.
  • The Ryan Award is given annually to a full-time faculty member who has demonstrated unusual devotion and effectiveness in teaching undergraduate or graduate students.
  • The Lazarus Award celebrates the spirit and legacy of the late Barbara Lazarus by recognizing exemplary contributions to fostering a welcoming and nurturing environment for graduate students and young faculty.
  • The Gelfand Award is given annually to a member of the university community who has combined sustained, effective community service with academic coursework.

For more on the awards and to submit a nomination, go to