Carnegie Mellon University

News Archives 2016

Wednesday, December 21, 2016
New Gaming Platform Creates Interactive Experience for Families

Friday, December 16, 2016
CMU Spinoff 101 Gets $20K Investment from Dorm Room Fund

Monday, December 12, 2016
Solvvy, a Machine Learning Startup, Secures $4.5M in Seed Funding

Monday, December 12, 2016
CMU Qatar Alumna Brings Service Design to Local Market

Monday, December 12, 2016
Pendo Raises $20M Series B Funding

Tuesday, December 6, 2016
New App Serves Up Shortcuts for Getting Drinks at the Bar

Monday, December 5, 2016
Multi-Channel Voylla Carves Niche in Jewelry Space

Tuesday, November 22, 2016
New Soft Electronics Fabrication Method is a Step Toward DIY Smart Tattoos

Friday, November 18, 2016
CMU Startup Aims to Empower the American Dream

Thursday, November 17, 2016
CMU's Trusst Lingerie Continues Growth with Storefront and Bra Line

Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Reed Smith Debuts Portal to Help Startups and Entrepreneurs

Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Facebook Buys CMU Spinoff FacioMetrics

Wednesday, November 16, 2016
CMU's NetBeez Adds Partech Ventures to Its List of Investors

Monday, November 14, 2016
ModCloth Opens Physical Location in Austin

Tuesday November 8, 2016
CMU Startup Aims to Turn Paint Into Toxin Detector

Monday, November 7, 2016
Pittsburgh Startups, Law Firms Form Alliances

Sunday, November 6, 2016
CMU-Q Startup Accepted into Alchemist Accelerator

Friday, November 4, 2016
Pittsburgh Technology Council Announces Winners of Tech 50 Awards

Friday November 4, 2016
Autonomous Wheelchair Improves Patient Mobility

Wednesday October 26, 2016
Alumnus Jim Swartz and CMU Leadership Launch the Swartz Center for Entrepreneurship

Wednesday October 12, 2016
Pittsburgh Startups Leading Robotics Technology Revolution

Wednesday October 12, 2016
CMU's Niche.com Continues to Deliver

Wednesday October 12, 2016
Wildcat Venture Partners Announces Scholarship Winners

Friday October 7, 2016
CMU Alumna Aims to Improve Breast Exams

Friday October 7, 2016
CMU's BioHybrid Solutions Pioneering a New Approach to Bioconjugate Production

Friday, September 30, 2016
Pitt Joins CMU in White House MetroLab Network

Friday, September 23, 2016
Susan Gregg Koger, ModCloth Co-founder, Visits Her Alma Mater

Friday, September 16, 2016
CMU's Forest Devices Wins $50K at LaunchKC Competition 

Monday, September 12, 2016
Entrepreneurship Bootcamp Participant Forum

Friday, September 9, 2016
Alumnus Puts College Athletes’ Mental Health Top of Mind

Friday September 9, 2016
CMU's Mad Street Den Gets Funding from Sequoia

Friday, September 2, 2016
LumiShield Named One of the Best University Startups

Friday, September 2, 2016
ModCloth to Set Up Pop-up Fit Shop Downtown this Month

Friday, September 2, 2016
Announcing the Fall CONNECTS Seminar Series

Tuesday, August 30, 2016
President to Visit Pittsburgh for 'Frontiers' Conference in October

Monday, August 29, 2016
CMU-Q Alumni Honoured

Tuesday, August 23, 2016
EdTech Startup Notesgen Crosses 400k Users, Raises $100k Angel Funds; AND Launches Personalized Notes Based on Student Preferences

Tuesday, August 23, 2016
A Team of Hackers Has Changed the Future of Computing Forever

Monday, August 22, 2016
Drone Startup Aptonomy Introduces the Self-flying Security Guard

Monday, August 22, 2016
Why More MBAs Are ‘Sticking It To The Man’

Friday, August 19, 2016
Uber Got This right — Pittsburgh is America’s City of the Future

Thursday, August 18, 2016
Meet Luis von Ahn: The Man You’ve Worked for, Without Knowing it

Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Is the GOAT Robot Leg Truly the Greatest Of All Time?

Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Demo Day Begins Next Stage for Startups

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Wigle Whiskey Starting Crowdfund to Create a New Whiskey Museum in Pittsburgh

Monday, August 15, 2016
Exercising Your Options

Monday, August 15, 2016
Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Announces Connects Series Lineup

Monday, August 15, 2016
Strip District Space Travel Startup Astrobotic in Race to Moon

Thursday, August 11, 2016
Yelp Invests $8M in Nowait

Monday, August 8, 2016
This Australian Was Shocked at How Terrible American Banking Was, So He Created a Company to Disrupt It

Monday, August 8, 2016
Apple Acquires Machine Learning Company Turi For $200 Million

Sunday, August 7, 2016
Carnegie Mellon University Team Behind Smartphone, Tablet App for Blind

Friday, August 5, 2016
CMU-spinoff ForAllSecure Wins $2 million Top Prize at the DARPA Cyber Grand Challenge

Thursday, August 4, 2016
Entrepreneurs Who Take a Study-break to Find Their Management Groove

Friday, July 29, 2016
Simcoach Uses Gaming to Save Construction Workers’ Lives with Harness Hero

Friday, July 29, 2016
Why an airport recovery is a good sign for Pittsburgh's economy

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar Grads Win Tech Startup of the Year for Medical Care App

Monday, July 11, 2016
What David Morgenthaler Taught Us About Entrepreneurship

Tuesday, June 21, 2016
How the University of Pittsburgh is Emerging from the Shadow of Carnegie Mellon

Monday, June 20, 2016
NVCA Saddened by Passing of Venture Icon David Morgenthaler

Friday, June 17, 2016
ClassPass Missteps Open Door for Startup in Work Out Wars

Friday, June 17, 2016
Touche! Choi, CMU Leaders Make Trek to National Maker Faire

Friday, June 17, 2016
RistCall Patient Care App Puts Patient Alerts on Smart Watches

Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Energy Analytics Company Aims for More Effective Smart Meter Readings

Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Investors Pump Money into Drone Developer Identified Technologies

Thursday, June 2, 2016
Werner Herzog Spotlights CMU Innovations in New Movie, “Lo and Behold”

Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wigle Inviting Food Writers to Pittsburgh for 'Raucous, Literary' Event

Wednesday, June 1, 2016
New Stroke Detection Device Promises Faster Diagnosis

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wigle Inviting Food Writers to Pittsburgh for 'Raucous, Literary' Event

Friday, May 27, 2016
Carnegie Mellon Teams with Pittsburgh in Smart Cities Challenge

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Profile: Arush Kalra Wanted to Better Design Medical Implants

Friday, May 20, 2016
Late Silicon Valley Legend's Foundation Creating Homestead Accelerator

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
This Device Lets You Test The Air Pollution In Your House

Thursday, May 12, 2016
Mawhinney named executive director of CMU's Swartz Center

Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Leadership of Swartz Center for Entrepreneurship Announced

Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Leadership of the Swartz Center for Entrepreneurship

Thursday, May 5, 2016
Skintrack Technology Turns Arm into Smartwatch Touchpad

Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Pittsburgh Execs to Coach Entrepreneurs on Marketing

Friday, April 29, 2016
Can Duolingo Crush the TOEFL?

Thursday, April 21, 2016
The Best and Worst Small Cities to Start a Business

Monday, April 18, 2016
CMU professor Sean Ammirati Examines Science Behind Startup Success with New Book

Monday, April 18, 2016
Retailer to Open Pop-up Store in Pittsburgh

Tuesday, April 12, 2016
CMU in Final Round of SpaceX Hyperloop Competition

Tuesday, April 12, 2016
New Movie is Partnering with CMU's Expii

Sunday, April 10, 2016
National Universities to Compete in CMU-Q Quick Startup 2016

Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Sole-Long To Dead Batteries, Shoe Insert Charges Electronics While You Walk

Thursday, March 31, 2016
Five Teams Walk Away from McGinnis Venture Competition with Investments

Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Two CMU Teams Among Finalists in Rice Business Competition

Wednesday, March 23, 2016
CMU's Gecko Robotics and NetBeez at Y Combinator Winter '16 Demo Day

Tuesday, March 22, 2016
McGinnis Venture Competition Winners Announced

Friday, March 18, 2016
CMU's Rorus Inc. Winner at SXSW Accelerator Competition

Tuesday, March 15, 2016
BetaBurgh Announces First Class of Innovative Downtown projects

Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Future Of Big Data: MBAs’ Cloud Computing Start-Ups Are Taking On Salesforce, Amazon S3

Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Startup Investors to Hit Pittsburgh March 12-13

Monday, March 7, 2016
4 Carnegie Mellon Spinoffs Acquired by Global Companies in 2015

Friday, March 4, 2016
5 Pittsburgh Designers Rocking it on Etsy

Thursday, March 3, 2016
ModCloth Ramping Up to Add Stores

Thursday, March 3, 2016
McGinnis Venture Competition Final Round Teams Announced

Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Entrepreneurship, Carnegie Mellon Style

Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Carnegie Mellon Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Selects Newest Innovation Corps Teams

Thursday, February 18, 2016
New EdTech Fund Forges Vital Ties Between Developers and Teachers

Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Turtle Mail Toy Lets Today's Kids Experience the Thrill of Snail Mail

Friday, February 12, 2016
CMU's NSF I-Corps Site Welcomes Spring 2016 Cohort

Friday, February 12, 2016
How Team USA’s Coach Plans to Rebuild America’s Confidence in Math

Thursday, February 11, 2016
Track Athletes Develop App for Alcoa

Thursday, February 11, 2016
GoDaddy stays connected with help from a Pittsburgh startup

Monday, February 8, 2016
SweepSense Pauses Your Music When Earphones are Removed

Sunday, February 7, 2016
Carnegie Mellon Student Develops Water Purification

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wigle Whiskey to Launch Hard Cider Business this Fall

Wednesday, February 3, 2016
CMU Advances in High-Speed Ground Transit Competition

Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Modsy Raises $8M Series A as it Gears up for Public Launch

Monday, February 1, 2016
Pittsburgh Startup Rorus Attracts Attention of 20 Global Disaster Relief Agencies

Monday, February 1, 2016
Startup Sharp Edge Labs Turns Business Plan Upside Down

Thursday, January 28, 2016
Loan Fund to Help Pittsburgh Businesses Grow

Monday, January 25, 2016
The United States Of Startups: The Most Well-Funded Tech Startup In Every US State

Monday, January 25, 2016
Micro-Taxis Give Riders, Advertisers a Lift

Sunday, January 24, 2016
As Tech Transforms Healthcare, MBA Jobs Abound

Thursday, January 21, 2016
National Academy of Sciences To Honor John R. Anderson For Revolutionizing How We Learn

Tuesday, January 19, 2016
CMU, Aquion Energy Partner with Government on Power Grid Research

Monday, January 18, 2016
Facebook-owned Company to Move into Oakland

Friday, January 15, 2016
100 CMU Students Benefit From Connections During California Trek

Friday, January 15, 2016
CIE Launches Spring 2016 CONNECTS Series

Thursday, January 14, 2016
Sutherland’s "Trojan Cockroach" Celebrated in Posner Center Exhibit

Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Accel VC Jim Swartz on Why This Bubble's Not Different

Friday, January 8, 2016
Small Firms Able to Orbit J.P. Morgan Healthcare Conference

Friday, January 8, 2016
Pittsburgh-Based Yogurt Company Raises Capital

Wednesday, January 6, 2016
CMU Grads' Distillery Hitting Shelves for 1st Time