Carnegie Mellon University

A Presidential History

Carnegie Mellon from 1900 to Today

The story of Carnegie Mellon University is unique and remarkable. After its founding in 1900 as the Carnegie Technical Schools, serving the workers and young men and women of the Pittsburgh area, it quickly became the degree-granting Carnegie Institute of Technology (now called College of Engineering) in 1912.

"Carnegie Tech," as it was known, merged with the Mellon Institute to become Carnegie Mellon University in 1967. Carnegie Mellon has since soared to national and international leadership in higher education-and it continues to be known for solving real-world problems, interdisciplinary collaboration and innovation.

The story of the university's famous founder — Andrew Carnegie — is also remarkable. A self-described "working-boy" with an "intense longing" for books, Andrew Carnegie emigrated from Scotland with his family in 1848 and settled in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He became a self-educated entrepreneur, whose Carnegie Steel Company grew to be the world's largest producer of steel by the end of the nineteenth century.

On November 15, 1900, Andrew Carnegie formally announced: "For many years I have nursed the pleasing thought that I might be the fortunate giver of a Technical Institute to our City, fashioned upon the best models, for I know of no institution which Pittsburgh, as an industrial centre, so much needs." He concluded with the words "My heart is in the work," which would become part of the school's official seal, designed by Tiffany and adopted in May 1912.

The Mellon family of Pittsburgh and its foundations later became strong and visionary supporters of Carnegie Tech and Carnegie Mellon. Thousands of faculty and staff, students and alumni, corporations, foundations and friends have joined this great educational venture. Carnegie Mellon would not be Carnegie Mellon without their vision, service and commitment.

Presidential Administrations

  • Arthur A. Hamerschlag, 1903–1922
  • Thomas S. Baker, 1922–1935
  • Robert E. Doherty, 1936–1950
  • John C. Warner, 1950–1965
  • H. Guyford Stever, 1965–1972
  • Richard M. Cyert, 1972–1990
  • Robert Mehrabian, 1990–1997
  • Jared L. Cohon, 1997–2013
  • Subra Suresh, 2013–