The Leadership of Carnegie Mellon University - Carnegie Mellon University

Leading Carnegie Mellon University

Since the university’s founding in 1900, Carnegie Mellon’s growth has been spearheaded by strong leaders, who have helped to create a university with a distinctive interdisciplinary culture, a growing international presence, a record of distinguished contributions in research by its faculty (whose ranks include 19 Nobel laureates, 49 members of the National Academy of Engineering, and 19 members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences), and a global network of more than 90,000 graduates.

Dr. Subra Suresh: President of the University

Dr. Subra Suresh

Subra Suresh became the ninth president of Carnegie Mellon University on July 1, 2013.

Before joining Carnegie Mellon, Dr. Suresh served as director of the U.S. National Science Foundation; among his many accomplishments in that role was co-founding the Global Research Council, a forum for leaders of major science research funding agencies from around the world.

Dr. Suresh was dean of the School of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He is a distinguished materials scientist, and his work on cellular nanomechanical processes and human disease states has shaped new fields at the intersection of engineering and biology; he received the 2013 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science for his many scientific contributions.

Suresh has received numerous awards and honors, including election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Suresh and his wife, Mary (Delmar), have two daughters, Nina and Meera. 

Learn more about Dr. Suresh: Meet the President »

During the 2013-2014 academic year, the CMU community celebrated Dr. Suresh's inaugural year with a series of events titled, "Crossing Boundaries, Transforming Lives." View event photos and videos »

Learn about the Provost, Executive Vice President and Board of Trustees.