Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
May 11, 2017

Personal Mention

President Subra Suresh and Provost Farnam Jahanian recognized four faculty members for their recent inductions into the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine. National Academy membership is among the highest professional distinctions awarded to scientists, social scientists, engineers, and medical and health professionals, and honors those who have made outstanding contributions to their fields.

Martin GaynorGerard CornuejolsMartin Gaynor, (far left) the E.J. Barone Professor of Economics and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon and former director of the Bureau of Economics at the Federal Trade Commission, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine for research on competition, antitrust policy and health care markets in the United States and abroad. Gérard Cornuéjols, (near left) the IBM University Professor of Operations Research at the Tepper School of Business, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for contributions to the theory, practice and application of integer programming.

Larry WassermanJon CaulkinsJonathan Caulkins, (near right) the H. Guyford Stever University Professor of Operations Research and Public Policy in the Heinz College, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for contributions to the analysis, modeling and engineering of drug policy in the United States and abroad. Larry Wasserman, (far right) professor of statistics and machine learning in the Dietrich College's Department of Statistics, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences for research on high dimensional inference, nonparametric inference, machine learning, topological data analysis and astrostatistics.

Tim HaggertyTim Haggerty recently contributed an opinion piece to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, in which he describes why he hates his computer. Reasons include excessive upgrades and password changes, the end of friendly debates and the loss of time alone and unplugged. He wrote, “As the digital world has evolved, I’ve realized that a steady percentage of my autonomy has been eaten away, so that the damn glowing box — which initially promised freedom (remember the famous ‘1984’ ads and the self-congratulatory list of geniuses from Apple used as its promotion?) has been replaced by a nagging sense of enslavement.” Haggerty is the director of the Dietrich College’s Humanities Scholars Program. Read 10 reasons I detest my computer.

Cleotilde GonzalezCMU's Cleotilde (Coty) Gonzalez (pictured right), Christian Lebiere and Lujo Bauer are part of a team that has received a $6.2 million Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant from the Department of Defense to prevent cyber attacks. The project, "Realizing Cyber Inception: Towards a Science of Personalized Deception for Cyber Defense," will develop deception tactics based on theories from cognitive science, computational game theory and computer systems engineering. "This new approach to cybersecurity will exploit the psychology of deception to lure attackers into believing that they have successfully compromised a system, while keeping our systems safe," said Gonzalez, research professor of social and decision sciences in the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Lebiere is a research scientist in the Department of Psychology and Bauer is an associate professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and in the Institute for Software Research. Learn more about the grant.