Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
March 02, 2017

Personal Mention

George LoewensteinReaders consuming fake news, investors ignoring a bear market, and internet users giving away valuable personal data in online quizzes: All of these trends can have dramatic consequences for the individuals involved as well as for society, and none are well explained by traditional economics. George Loewenstein, the Herbert A. Simon University Professor of Economics and Psychology, discussed his research on these trends and other topics at the Behavioral Insights in Action Conference, which celebrated the launch of CMU's new Bachelor of Arts in Behavioral Economics, Policy and Organizations. Watch a video or read more.

Joanna WolfeJoanna Wolfe won the 2017 Conference on College Composition and Communication Technical and Scientific Communication Award for Best Article on Pedagogy or Curriculum in Technical or Scientific Communication. Her article was titled "Teaching Students to Focus on the Data in Data Visualization." Wolfe is director of the Global Communications Center and a teaching professor of English.

Jon KlancherEnglish Professor Jon Klancher won the 2016 Jean-Pierre Barricelli Prize for his book “Transfiguring the Arts and Sciences: Knowledge and Cultural Institutions in the Romantic Age," which was published by Cambridge University Press. As the International Conference in Romanticism describes it, the prize "recognizes exceptional, even groundbreaking works in the discipline, and is vetted by scholars from around the world." Previous winners have included Peter Gay, Ian Balfour, Martin Beck, and other renowned scholars.

Lisa MurphyWomen's basketball senior forward Lisa Murphy received top honors from the University Athletic Association (UAA) as the Women's Basketball Player of the Year for the second straight year. She is the first women's basketball player in Carnegie Mellon history to be a four-time first-team All-UAA selection. Murphy also was honored by the College Sports Information Directors of America as the 2017 Women's Basketball Division III Academic All-American of the Year. Find out more.