Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
December 17, 2015

Personal Mention

Michael MurphyMichael Murphy will step down as vice president for Campus Affairs this summer after 33 years of outstanding service to Carnegie Mellon’s senior leadership. He plans to focus on teaching and research and will continue to teach in the Heinz College. Murphy, who began his career at CMU in 1982, was a longtime dean of Student Affairs before serving as vice president for the past seven years. “He has brought dedication, compassion and deep integrity to all that he has done, and that legacy will benefit the university for years to come,” said President Subra Suresh in an email to the university community. Find out more about Murphy.

Giina CasalegnoPresident Suresh has announced that Dean of Student Affairs Gina Casalegno will become Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, effective July 1, 2016. In this new position, she will retain her current duties, cultivate new opportunities to enhance the student experience and represent student affairs among senior leaders. “In her five years as Dean of Student Affairs, Gina has proven herself an outstanding leader and tireless advocate on matters that impact students and the life of the campus,” President Suresh said. “This new role will allow her to continue to enhance the student experience at CMU in important ways, as envisioned in our strategic plan,” he said. Find out more about Casalegno.

Frank PfenningKevin FallFrank Pfenning (left), head of the Computer Science Department, and Kevin Fall (right), the deputy director and chief technology officer of the Software Engineering Institute, have been named 2015 Fellows by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) in recognition of their contributions to computer science. The ACM, the world’s leading computer society, cited Pfenning for “contributions to the logical foundations of automatic theorem proving and types for programming languages.” His research focuses on applications of mathematical logic in computer science, including the design of programming languages, systems for reasoning about computer programs and logics for ensuring computer security. Fall was cited for “contributions to delay-tolerant networking.” An adjunct professor in SCS’s Institute for Software Research, Fall directs the research and development portfolio of the SEI’s technical programs in cybersecurity and software engineering.  ACM will formally recognize the 42 new Fellows at the annual Awards Banquet in San Francisco in June. Find out more.

Kathryn RoederKathryn Roeder, vice provost for faculty and professor of statistics and computational biology, has been named Statistics Chair-Elect of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2015. Elected candidates will be announced in late December and will begin their terms in February 2016. View the full slate of candidates and learn more.

Kevin Kelly Kevin ZollmanThe 2015 LogiCIC Workshop in Amsterdam last month highlighted two Philosophy Department faculty members among its 12 invited speakers. Professor Kevin Kelly (far left) and Associate Professor Kevin Zollman participated in the workshop on reasoning in social context, which was described as “a forum to exchange ideas and explore new territory in which it is clear that logic can make a difference.” Learn more about the workshop

Andy NormanAndy Norman, special faculty in the Philosophy Department, published an op-ed in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette titled “Paris and the seeds of radicalization.” In his commentary, Norman proposes that we develop “a shared ‘ethics’ of belief … creating a culture that dissolves bad ideas before they harden into ideologies.” Read his op-ed

Robert ColwellAlumnus Robert Colwell, brother of Denis Colwell, head of the School of Music, has been named the recipient of the IEEE 2015 B. Ramakrishna Rau Award for contributions to critical analysis of microarchitecture and the development of the Pentium Pro processor. Bob Colwell was director of DARPA's Microsystems Technology Office from 2012 - 2014. Previously, he was Intel's chief IA32 (Pentium) microprocessor architect from 1992-2000. Colwell was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2006 "for contributions to turning novel computer architecture concepts into viable, cutting-edge commercial processors.”  Also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, he is the inventor or co-inventor on 40 patents. Colwell earned his master’s degree and Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering at CMU in 1978 and 1985, respectively. He earned his bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. Find out more