Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
December 19, 2013

Personal Mention

President Emeritus Jared L. Cohon, University Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Engineering and Public Policy, has been named to the Carnegie Corporation of New York Board of Trustees. The Carnegie Corporation of New York was created by Andrew Carnegie in 1911 “to promote the advancement and diffusion of knowledge and understanding.” The corporation’s work focuses on the issues that Carnegie considered of paramount importance: international peace, the advancement of education and knowledge, and the strength of our democracy. “It has been my privilege to know Jared Cohon while he was president of Carnegie Mellon, a sister institution,” said Vartan Gregorian, president of the Carnegie Corporation of New York. “He has been the recipient of a Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Award and has also been a leader in the fields of science and technology. I consider it a distinct privilege for us to have him join our board,” Gregorian said. Also joining the Carnegie Corporation of New York Board of Trustees is journalist Judy Woodruff, co-anchor of the PBS NewsHour.

Eswaran Subrahmanian has been named a Distinguished Member by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) for his cross-disciplinary study of design through the fields of computer science, social sciences, engineering design and systems design. "My inspiration for this cross-disciplinary work has come from the vision of CMU's Herbert Simon and his book 'The Sciences of the Artificial' and several other design computing pioneers," said Subrahmanian, a research professor in CMU's Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES). "Recently, I have been exploring the role of simulation, gaming and visualization to understand the role of participation in design of public infrastructures in India, and to deepen the information-based theory of designing." Read more.

Ed Rubin, professor of engineering and public policy and mechanical engineering, delivered the keynote address, titled "Opportunities and Challenges for CCS in a Carbon-Constrained World," at the Discussion Forum on Carbon Capture and Sequestration (CCS) Dec. 9 at the King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia. The meeting was attended by university and industry researchers, petroleum industry representatives and government officials involved in a new Saudi Arabia Technology Innovation Center initiative to develop and deploy advanced technologies to reduce carbon dioxide emissions linked to global climate change.

Coro Pittsburgh will honor Jim Daniels for his "values-based leadership in the service of an inclusive community" at the organization’s 2014 Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership Awards on Jan. 24.  Daniels, the Thomas Stockham Baker Professor of English, is being recognized for founding and directing the CMU Martin Luther King, Jr. Writing Awards, which encourage Pittsburgh-area high school and college students to explore their personal connections with race and discrimination. Read more.

Matt Loebbaka, a junior on the men's basketball team, was chosen as a member of the Division III NCAA Student-Athlete Advisory Committee earlier this month. Loebbaka a chemical engineering major, will be one of 24 national representatives to serve on the committee when his three-year term begins in January. Loebbaka will be representing all of the student-athletes from the University Athletic Association (UAA) and the City University of New York Athletic Conference (CUNYAC) during his term. Read more.

Two faculty members in the University Libraries were honored at the 2013 Business Meeting & Awards Banquet of the Special Libraries Association/Pittsburgh Chapter on Dec. 5. Donna Beck received the Innovations in Technology Award for the iPad lending program that she piloted and helped implement in the University Libraries. Lynn Berard was recognized for exemplary guidance of library school students and/or practicing library professionals. Berard shared the Mentoring Award with colleague Eve Wider of the University of Pittsburgh.