Carnegie Mellon University

The Piper

CMU Community News

Piper Logo
August 23, 2012

Personal Mention

Ramayya Krishnan, dean of the Heinz College and the William W. and Ruth F. Cooper Professor of Management Science and Information Systems, has been elected a fellow of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). Only 12 members were selected for this high honor this year. Krishnan, who joins Heinz College professors Al Blumstein and Jonathan Caulkins as INFORMS fellows, will be honored at a luncheon in October at the INFORMS annual meeting in Phoenix.

Don Carter, director of the Remaking Cities Institute and chair of the Master of Urban Design Program in the School of Architecture, wrote the opening chapter in “SynergiCity: Reinventing the Post-industrial City,"  a new book from the University of Illinois Press due out in October. Carter was asked by the book editors to write the opening chapter, "The Future of the Post-Industrial City," using the transformation of Pittsburgh from industrially-based to technology-based as a case study.

Chemical engineering professors Shelley L. Anna  and Lynn M. Walker received a $330,000 grant from the Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative to improve tools used to characterize dispersants used in deep-sea oil spills. “At the time of the spill, quick decisions need to be made about the method of application of dispersants. But currently there is no information available to help with those decisions,” Anna said. Read the full story.

Roger Dannenberg, professor of computer science, art and music, was recently named chief science officer for Music Prodigy. Music Prodigy is a music education technology company that released the award-winning application, Rock Prodigy. Dannenberg is the co-inventor of Music Prodigy's patent-pending music teaching system that allows musicians of all skill levels to use any instrument and provide instant performance feedback to accelerate learning. Read the full story.

Brad Walker (DC ’12) has won the 2012 Erwin R. Steinberg Main Professional Writing (MAPW) Scholarship. The $1,500 scholarship was established in 2007 as a tribute to Steinberg, the longtime English professor who also was the first dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, now the Dietrich College. It is awarded annually to a third-semester MAPW student who excels in Style, a course Steinberg taught for many years in the MAPW program. The winner also must show the integrity, intellectual curiosity and citizenship that Steinberg displayed while founding and developing the MAPW program over his long career at Carnegie Mellon. For more information, visit