Carnegie Mellon University

Core Faculty

Core faculty members in the Neuroscience Institute advise students, serve on selection committees, and are voting members in Institute activities. The faculty directory includes both core and affiliate faculty members.

Alison Barth

Marlene Behrmann

Jessica Cantlon

Maysam Chamanzar

Steve Chase

David Creswell

Aryn Gittis

Pulkit Grover

Bin He

Kate Hong

Jana Kainerstorfer

Rob Kass

Tai Sing Lee

Brad Mahon

Abby Noyce

Carl Olson

Andreas Pfenning

David Plaut

Barb Shinn-Cunningham

Matt Smith

Mike Tarr

Dave Touretzy

Tim Verstynen

Doug Weber

Leila Wehbe

Sossena Wood

Wayne Wu

Eric Yttri

Byron Yu




Get Involved

Become a Faculty Affiliate

CMU Faculty who are interested in becoming involved in the Neuroscience Institute should contact Dr. Barbara Shinn-Cunningham. Please include your CV and a brief description of your work in neuroscience. 

Become a Student

Learn more about our training programs and how to apply. We offer multiple graduate programs as well as non-degree granting and undergraduate options.

Become a Postdoc

Applications for the NI Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellowship Program are due in spring of each year. 

Attend an Event

Many of our talks are free and open to the public. Check out our calendar.

Follow Us

The Neuroscience Institute is on Twitter and Facebook.

Become a Donor

We aim to significantly expand our research footprint into new areas of neuroscience at the boundary of our existing strengths. Your gift to the Carnegie Mellon Neuroscience Institute expresses your commitment to our vision.