Carnegie Mellon University
April 24, 2020

CMU's Ydstie Named Finalist in DOE's American-Made Solar Prize

By Amanda King

Amanda King
  • Wilton E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation
  • 412-268-6741

The U.S. Department of Energy and National Renewable Energy Laboratory selected 10 finalists in Round 2 of the American-Made Solar Prize on March 30. In mid-March, 20 semifinalists from 14 states virtually pitched their solar innovations to industry experts during Round 2 Set! Demo Day, in collaboration with the Scott Institute for Energy Innovation.

The winning teams each received $100,000 in cash prizes and $75,000 in support vouchers for their technologies. Scott Institute Faculty Affiliate B. Erik Ydstie's (Chemical Engineering) team, Integrated Silicon Technologies, is among the finalists for their award-winning innovation, "Continuous Silicon Wafer Production." The finalists are:

  • Asoleyo Architectural Solar Cells
  • Integrated Silicon Technologies
  • Orison, Inc.
  • Resilient Power Systems
  • Solpaver
  • SunFlex Solar
  • Switched Source LLC
  • Taka Solar
  • Terra Pave
  • Vespr Solar

These teams will next compete in the final phase of the competition, the Go! Contest. Scott Institute Executive Director Anna J. Siefken delivered the concluding remarks at the online announcement. The institute helps to facilitate and grow the Solar Prize as a designated "Power Connector." 

"We are thrilled to see the culmination of your hard work and dedication. To see your ideas come together and observe your progress through the competition has been nothing short of inspiring," said Siefken. "Supporting innovative startup ideas such as yours and speeding progress is what all Connectors and Power Connectors aspire to do as members of the American-Made Network. We look forward to continuing our partnership with you, working together to advance energy breakthroughs."

The American-Made Solar Prize is a $3 million competition designed to revitalize U.S. solar manufacturing through a series of contests and the development of a diverse and powerful support network that leverages national laboratories, energy incubators and other resources across the country. The prize is directed and administered by the NREL and funded by the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Energy Technologies Office.