Carnegie Mellon University
June 08, 2016

CMU Celebrates 70th Annual Tony Awards, June 12

Renee Goldsberry

CMU alumna Renée Elise Goldsberry, center, garnered one of 16 Tony Award nominations for the smash musical "Hamilton."

Carnegie Mellon University's Renée Elise Goldsberry is not going to miss her shot.

Goldsberry, a 1993 graduate, was nominated for Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role for the musical "Hamilton." She is one of seven CMU alumni who have been nominated for eight Tony Awards this year.

The 70th Annual Tony Awards, hosted by James Corden, will be broadcast live on CBS at 8 p.m. EDT, Sunday, June 12, from the Beacon Theatre in New York City.

Along with Goldsberry, this year's CMU alumni nominees are:

Jamie deRoy, a 1967 graduate, has been nominated as a producer for Best Musical for "Bright Star" and as a producer for Best Revival of a Musical for "Fiddler on the Roof."

Peggy Eisenhauer, a 1983 graduate, and Jules Fisher, a 1960 graduate, have been nominated for Best Lighting Design for the musical "Shuffle Along."

Megan Hilty, a 2004 graduate, has been nominated for Best Performance by a Featured Actress in the play "Noises Off."

Leslie Odom Jr., a 2003 graduate, has been nominated for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role for his performance in the musical "Hamilton."

Ann Roth, a 1953 graduate, has been nominated for Best Costume Design for "Shuffle Along." Roth recently won the Drama Desk Award for the same category.

In 2013, CMU alumni took home eight Tony Awards, and hundreds of CMU alumni have been nominated for the honor. Alumni have won 41 awards to date.

A number of CMU alumni will be featured in this year's awards show broadcast. CMU alumni Patina Miller and Blair Underwood are among the presenters.

In addition, CMU will present the second Excellence in Theatre Education Award to Marilyn McCormick. Created by CMU and the Tonys, the award recognizes a K-12 theatre educator who embodies the highest standards of the profession, demonstrating a positive impact on students and advancing the theatre industry. More than 1,200 teachers were nominated for the award.

A panel of judges comprising representatives of the American Theatre Wing, The Broadway League, Carnegie Mellon and other leaders from the theatre industry selected the finalists and winner. "Hamilton" actress and CMU alumna Renée Elise Goldsberry and CMU School of Drama Head Peter Cooke, OAM, Ph.D., served as judges.

CMU's 30-second commercial will again air during the broadcast. This year's ad is narrated by alumna Judith Light, who graduated in 1970.